Question Security Alarm - Home Automation

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by mavers, May 2, 2016.

  1. mavers

    mavers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    We are about to complete on our new property (1920/1930s semi), and are looking to install a security alarm. We envisage (dependent on funds!) to renovate and extend the property in 18 to 24 months. When we undertake this project, we'll look to fully integrate more smart home features (automatic lighting, Fibaro motion/light sensors, wiring cat6 cable everywhere etc!).

    On the immediate horizon we need to install a security alarm. I don't mind spending a bit more, to ensure that the alarm is suitable when we do the full renovation.

    From my research, it seems that wireless alarms are quite capable. In particular Visonic PowerMax systems. At some stage we would want CCTV, but I imagine that would come as part of the full renovation.

    Onto my questions:
    1) What wireless alarms should I be looking at? Any feedback on the Visonic range?
    2) Any recommended installers in south east london? Or should a DIY installation suffice?
    3) CCTV - is it recommended to try and shoehorn this in at this stage? I imagine its probably best to wait until the renovation.

    Thanks!
     
  2. mavers

    mavers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Bump
    Anyone with experience with visonic or other alarm brands?
     
  3. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Would you want your alarm to work with your zwave sensors and other modules at a later date ?

    CCTV would be better also to work in conjunction with the HA and alarm so ensure if you do get CCTV it is compatible . IP Poe cameras (we use grandstream)
     
  4. mavers

    mavers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ideally I'd like it to work with zwave sensors. But it's not a must have.
     
  5. mavers

    mavers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Been thinking about getting the Texecom ricochet.
    Any thoughts? Also how's the android app?

    Most likely going to get it installed by a pro, any recommendations for installers in London?
     
  6. i2EHN

    i2EHN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +80
    Texecom is really good and recommend 100%. Can recommend an installer used previously but not sure if they cover london area. Dependant on budget a lot can be achieved with Texecom and technology is reliable ,robust - it works.
     
  7. Haveagohero

    Haveagohero
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Leyland
    Ratings:
    +2
    I fit alarms for a living and can vouch for the visonic powermax
    I have it installed in my home
    Quite how it would integrate into home automation i dont know as it really is based on a standalone application
    Ricochet is a good system but is also quite expensive
    Another system which is good is HKC
    Its a hybrid so you can have hardwired and wireless.
    And you wont use up all the wireless zones either as it is capable of 70 or 140 depending on the panel
    It comes with app and can control heating lighting door control and probably other on/off applications
     
  8. hort2074

    hort2074
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +311
    Shame you are so far north, I'm looking for somebody to fit my Texecom kit.
     
  9. hort2074

    hort2074
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +311
    Can anybody tell me how it's possible to install a wireless flood detector on the ricochet system?

    I think the wireless door contact can be used as it has an input, and you can disable the reed sensor. Is this true?

    If so, buy a wired flood sensor and wire into a wireless door contact with the reed disabled?
     
  10. hort2074

    hort2074
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +311
    Bump this question - anybody?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice