1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Second NTL STB

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by sixspeed, Oct 23, 2003.

  1. sixspeed

    sixspeed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi there,

    I'd like to have a second NTL STB for the bedroom in my house (current NTL installation is in the main living room).

    I've seen people selling NTL STBs on eBay. Is there any mileage in buying one of these to solve my problem? Presumably I'd still need a subscriber card for the box, so I'd still need to pay NTL for this? Some boxes are advertised with a "card". How does this work?

    Just wondering if I can save some money by buying one of these STBs or whether i'll have to cough up the £15 a month to NTL instead.. :(


    -andy-
     
  2. bowler

    bowler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    NTL only hire out their boxes so I assume that any boxes on E Bay still belong to them.
     
  3. ledzep100

    ledzep100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Windsor, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Andy,

    When you get ntl: DTV installed the STB is on loan and remains the property of ntl: So technically if you see one for sale it's stolen. But people do sell them.

    There'd be no point installing one though. As you wouldn't get any channels.

    You'd have to pay for a second sub. I believe its £15 PM + install.

    Hope this helps.

    Ledzep
     
  4. sixspeed

    sixspeed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +14
    Ahh.. that sorts that one out then.

    Another idea I had was to use those Video Senders I've seen for sale in places. Would they do the job? What's the quality of the picture like?


    -andy-
     
  5. davej

    davej
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +0
    The biggest problem with distributing signals from an NTL STB to other rooms is that a lot of their boxes don't use standard IR remote control codes, instead they use "IRDA" which is totally incompatible with almost all video senders/remote control extenders/universal remotes.
    Fortunately there are now one or two potential solutions to this out there (eg. the "red-eye remote translator" at http://www.redremote.co.uk/ ) but its extra expenditure.
    For discussions on picture quality have a look at the "Hide Skybox- Possible?" thread.
     
  6. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You would be cheaper with a Freeview box in the bedroom (long term.)
     
  7. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +520
    i do eactly this with digisender and the picture is very good
     

Share This Page

Loading...