1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seagate Barracuda 80GB only £69

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Timh, Jul 7, 2002.

  1. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Just ordered myself a Seagate Barracuda 80Gb Hard drive from Komplett only £69 :)
    Should be nice and quiet, well would be if it were not for that damb noisy CPU fan, I must get myself a quiet one from quietpc.
     
  2. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Hello Tim,

    I also ordered a barracuda 80 gig, bargain for £69, and only £4 something for delivery :)

    If you are looking for a Molex Radial fin cooler for your CPU, they are cheaper here : http://www.pcsilent.de/en/products/index.asp

    In germany, but delivery only 10 Euros (£6.50), Just about to order some stuff myself.

    Mark.
     
  3. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,620
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,478
  4. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Thanks Guys, has any one tried this Flower cooler from quietpc for £34.
    I have an AMD XP1800 Proccessor.
     
  5. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,620
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,478
  6. meep

    meep
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    607
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +48
    Timh

    I got the flower cooler a few weeks ago, see details and photos on my link page.

    Working on an AMD 1.3MHz with no problems. And it looks good BUT be sure you're CPU is not directly underneath your PSU - there is not enough room for the flower heatsink and fan.


    My coolermaster case arrives today so look out for a website update over the coming few days.....

    Peter
     
  7. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Garrett

    It does include vat but not postage.

    Peter

    Did you find the fan much quieter when using the flower cooler?
    I would check to see if I could fit it in before I would order one.

    Thanks
     
  8. triplebj

    triplebj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am running the flower cooler on my XP1800. Typical temps are 48 CPU and 41 MB on the lowest fan setting.

    Can't hear the thing 'cuz my PSU is still noisy ;-)

    BJ
     
  9. feet14

    feet14
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just checked the website and the price is now £72 inc vat with estimated postage of £4.41 inc VAT making a total of £76.41.
     
  10. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    I've got a Silverado - twin German fan unit which looks like a WWII air raid warner!- on my machine and is nice and quiet. But again you need the headroom for it.
     
  11. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    :eek: its now gone up to £83.22 = postage, glad I didn't hang around.
     
  12. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    When I fit my new Hard drive, will I have to use a perticuler power pug from the psu or are they all rated the same.
     
  13. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,620
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,478
    The same, as the other HD.
     
  14. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    Garrett

    I have a new system case and I am not sure if I am supposed to use a perticuler plug :confused:
    The Time machine r2 original, comments coming soon.
     
  15. feet14

    feet14
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK, West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone tell me where the best place to get the proper sized screws for hard disks is, as I've not found anywhere that does. I don't want to damage a hard disk by using the wrong sized screw.

    And I've heard that the Barracuda IV range will soon be replaced by the Barracuda V range, perhaps explaining the price cuts.
     
  16. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,620
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,478
    Hi Timh

    The power cable you use for the HD are the thicker ones, the plug has the corners on the top side missing. As you look from above the HD the power should be on the RH side of it and the IDE to the left of it. The red on the power should be to left next to the IDE cable, and the coloured wire on the IDE should be to the right, next to the power cable when pluged in, If you get my drift.
    There should be plenty of these power leads so any will do, but I personally try not to use one that has branches, powering something else if I can help it.

    If you haven’t been in the case before I will post some tips.
     
  17. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    This is my second upgrade now, and I am quite happy doing it, its just that I was not sure if the plugs had differant voltage for differant hardware.
    I will certainly use a plug with no branching on it, now you have mensioned it.

    Thanks
     
  18. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,620
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,478
    There is nothing really wrong with it, its just a personal thing, just a bit like having the choice of using two wall sockets, or one with a two way adapter.
     
  19. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,620
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,478
    Just an other personal thought, on noise.
    I do not mind much about a little noise, but intermittent noise. :mad: It’s like a clock ticking you never hear it till it stops, the one this I hate is hearing the noise of a CD drive starting up and slowing down.
     

Share This Page

Loading...