1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SDI players and modifications

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Ikki, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. Ikki

    Ikki
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,173
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +97
    If you are looking for an SDI player or SDI mods for an existing player, this Dutch company may be of interest:

    http://www.jvb.nl/

    They also do multiregion mods and a range of US players in MR.
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think a number here have tried them, they do seem quite expensive though and we have Elliot from PJ hifi who is based in the UK and does these mods.

    all the best

    ad
     
  3. joe davis

    joe davis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    this in uk . SDI Panasonic RP-82: In stock. Upgraded with SDI output. Multi-region, DVD Audio. Onboard DD and DTS. Progressive scan using the highly rated Genesis FLI2200 chipset. Chroma bug free MEI MPEG decoder. The RP-82 produces the most natural looking DVD images we have seen, the progressive output is quite exceptional (480p only from NTSC discs, not 576p PAL progressive capable) £479.00 including VAT and UK delivery http://www.crtprojectors.co.uk/accessories.htm#rp82
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think the crt projectors player is the same as those supplied by pms video.... I could be wrong though. It is a total bargain, no unmodified player within about 5 times the price is going to match its picture

    ad
     
  5. joe davis

    joe davis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi ad
    i am looking for a upgrade for my pioneer 737 player.
    and i am looking at the SDI Panasonic RP-82: or the
    pioneer dv757. thanks joe.
     
  6. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    well i'd def go for the panasonic but you need to keep in mind that you would also need to budget for a scaler..... you could do this with the pc for as little as a few hundred but the cheapest hardware solution will be about £1k

    ad
     
  7. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    Folks,

    I've got the XP50 (same gubbins as RP82) and the NTSC progressive out to Panny 42" plasma is unbelievable.

    I just finished downloading the LOTR TTT WMVHD 720p and compared it to the DVD and there is hardly anything in it and not worth the bother, on a 42" plasma anyway.

    I'd love to compare the XP50 480p to the Denon A11 720p output.

    Go for that deal at CRT, its a bargain.

    Can't wait to get my SDI kit for my XP50, although i've not got a processor with SDI in or a digital-in display(thinking ahead you see :) )

    Steve.
     
  8. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,700
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +607
    I have the RP-82 and the progressive out is superb, it is the most natural looking dvd I have ever seen, regardless of price, cant wait to try the sdi out.
     
  9. joe davis

    joe davis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    it is now..... I had mine for sale at £400, then £350 and then it finally sold at £300! :eek: You missed a bargain!

    ad
     
  11. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    I didn't..! :smoke: :smashin:
     
  12. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    :D a wise man! What processor will you be using it with Simon?

    All the best

    ad
     
  13. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    Buns,

    What player have you got now?

    Steve.
     
  14. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    One of the new Lumagens, but I need to pay for the plasma first so unfortunately it'll be component until Christmas... :(
     
  15. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Jackass,

    At the moment I have the rp82..... simon has bought it of me so I wont have it for much longer. I have an sdi arcam dv27 on order with Elliot to replace it.

    Simon,
    I notice your plasma is only on order..... if you only got one of the panasonic plasmas.... you could get the panasonic plasma and the lumagen dvi for the same amount as you'll be paying for the pioneer plasma....

    ad
     
  16. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Wow... Don't start me off on plasma's..! :suicide:
     
  17. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    I have a panny SDI player, they are great, I am looking to upgrade to the Arcam :)
     
  18. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    I'm stuck between going Arcam 27 SDI or Denon A11 SDI?

    :confused:
     
  19. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    well Ive never thought so much of denon, there always seem to be plenty of denon based issues. Thats maybe unfair, but thats how I read it. Also Arcam being a small company draws me towards them. You can additionally consider it that the arcam dv27 is now a known entity as far as sdi mods go.... there will soon be quite a few people on here with this player...... I havent heard of any with the denon.

    ad
     
  20. joe davis

    joe davis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  21. joe davis

    joe davis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi ad and the DV88+ for £499
     
  22. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    The dv27 would be alot more expensive. The new ones are the dv27A which I believe will be somewhere above £1500. On the other hand, they are easier (and I gather cheaper) to modify. Really the guy to talk to about this is Elliot himself since he would know which players are best and which not to modify.

    Drop me an email to talksalot81@hotmail.com and I will put you in touch with him

    all the best

    ad
     
  23. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    yeah..... it is £475 for elliot to mod the 89/88+

    all the best

    ad
     
  24. joe davis

    joe davis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi .88+ would cost you £499, the board £300 = £799.
     
  25. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    nope..... the mod elliot does is £325 (this is a special price which I cannot discuss) but he has said that it requires additional work for the 88+/89. This entails a new board which basically makes the prog scan output the same as the dv27. Unfortunately it will carry an additional £150 premium.

    ad
     
  26. joe davis

    joe davis
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi ad the DV88+ do not have the Silicon Image deinterlacing chipset for progressive scan, the Zoran Vaddis 5 does it. However, the SiI board is it is available as an additional upgrade for these players; which will take them nearer to DV27+ or DV27A specifications. and it is £300 from Creative Audio . thanks joe
     
  27. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    Ad,

    Do the Arcams suffer from the CUE.

    If so, if you use the SDI output on the Arcams does this put out the CUE (chroma bug) in the picture?

    The bonus of CUE free and SACD on the Denon is drawing me to it although the issues at present are swaying me to using my XP50 c/w SDI and separate SACD player.

    The 12 bit, 216Mhz video dacs and other goodies in the Arcam 79 do look promising too and the HiFi News review loved it.

    At this stage do you know if Elliot can mod the 79 for SDI or is it too early?

    Steve.
     
  28. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Joe,

    Im aware of that, what im saying is that elliot requires that this be done for him to do the sdi mod.....

    Jackass,

    I dont know they are CUE free..... but I do know that the guys who really know (read Gordon etc.) think the dv27 is one step above most of the rest. So read into that what you may.

    I dont know at all about the denon, just, as I say, I wouldnt buy one. Additionally the denon is going to depreciate much more rapidly and you also are taking the denon issues to another level..... lets see you try and get a problem sorted with it if denon see an after market mod on there! Im not meaning to say its no good cos im sure it isnt, just I wouldnt want to be the guinea pig trying it out.

    As far as the 79 goes.... who knows.... I think Elliot has one in the shop so only way to find out is to give him a bell and see!

    all the best

    ad
     
  29. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    But if you do want an A11...... try pms video who are doing them modded at $2150 (yes, US dollars). I got my panny from them and was very pleased. When I bought, the price even included shipping, but that may well have changed.

    Id still go for the arcam though ;)

    ad
     
  30. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    I think it's $2700 with SDI...
     

Share This Page

Loading...