1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SDI mod to freeview?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Mr.D, Jul 11, 2003.

  1. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    I know there are a couple of reasonably priced SDI output mods available but has anyone here ever installed one in a freeview/gondigital box.

    I've seen places that offer modded sky digiboxes but I'd like to get an idea of how tricky these things are to install. The companies that offer pre-modded units seem to charge a fairly hefty premium for them.

    Spending many hundreds of pounds just to get a slightly better picture out of freeview isn't really an attractive proposition. A couple of hundred for the mod and card then fine, but another couple of hundred for installation no way.
     
  2. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    What do you plan to connect to modded Freeview box?
     
  3. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mr D

    Do you have a link for someone offering a sdi modded sky box?

    I wanted to get my sky+ modded and then with a 120gb hd, would have a decent onbox solution.

    No one seems to actual have one either!!

    would something like the nebula pci card be better?
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    Plan is to use the sdi modded digibox with an sdi capture card and dscaler in my HTPC. I feel I've messed about with svideo capture solutions for too long and never really been satisfied with it. Time to sever the gordian knot as it were.

    Lots of info on the sdi silk website and the PMS video website. The PMS mod and card would be the ones I'd be going for.
     
  5. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you consider using one of the PCI TV card for Freeview, for example www.nebula-electronics.com DigiTV.

    I have several Freeview boxes and two DigiTV cards and they work better than STB's.
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111
    I'd heard that the deinterlacing quality on a lot of the cards is pretty basic.

    I know that JohnAd has mentioned in the past the possibility of using dscaler filters on these type of cards but that won't be for some time.
     
  7. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    Mr.D, could you post some links for these mods, I can find the sdi silk website but not anything for PMS, roughly how much does it cost to get an SDI modded sky digibox?

    Owain
     
  8. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,111

Share This Page

Loading...