sd220 scart RGB Problem

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by kearneyt, Feb 10, 2003.

  1. kearneyt

    kearneyt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have a Tosh 220 connected to a sony 32fx66. I am using the SVideo connection as the scart connection causes the screen to display lines as if it needs to be tuned. I had the same problem when I connected to a Toshiba TV with an RGB input so it seems to be a problem with the DVD player.
    Has anyone else seen this? Is it possibly just a bad connection on the SCART socket. I am using a fully wired cable.
    Would the quality be that much better than the SVideo if it did work or should I just forget it and continue with SVideo?

    Thanks for any help,

    Tom.
     
  2. gingerone

    gingerone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,567
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +388
    My mother in law has the same tv and player and there was no problem with rgb, I'd get a replacement player.
     
  3. adox

    adox
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    dublin
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a different telly and dvd player but am also having problems with rgb output. have what can best be described as shadowy lines at times on the picture. they follow onscreen movement on the picture. does this sound similar to your problem?
    btw have connected dvd to av2 instead for the time being and it is fine.:rolleyes:
     
  4. kearneyt

    kearneyt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Adox,

    my problem seems to be different. Cannot see a clear picture at all. Just wavy lines that look like the tv needs the horizontal hold tweaked. I think it is an internal connection problem with the player. Problem is I don't want to have to send it back as I bought it abroad. I was just wondering if I am losing a significant amount on picture quality.

    Thanks,

    Tom.
     
  5. adox

    adox
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    dublin
    Ratings:
    +0
    well you are losing picture quality, but how much is a subjective matter. if you don`t want to send it back, i`d say hook it up to the best av source you can.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice