SD/HD For A Technophobe

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by phattanglo, Dec 21, 2006.

1. phattanglo

phattanglo
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hope my questions don't seem too simplistic, but I am totally in the dark when it comes to AV technology.
    I currently have a basic sd setup consisting of Tosh RPTV, Pioneer receiver and DVD player with a Sony sd Sky box.
    I was impressed with a mates hd setup of plasma tv, forgot which and a Sky hd box.
    My question is, what needs to be replaced apart from my tv to get hd from a dvd source, I'm not clear what gives hd, is it the equipment or the dvd disc.
    The only technobabble I retained from my mates ramblings was 1080i or
    1080p or something:confused:

2. jezzer256

jezzer256

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +164
    I'm no expert, but I know there are two types of HD disc emerging - blu ray & HD DVD. To play either of these, you will need a new player - there are a few blu ray players and HD DVD players out there. However you're gonna have to pay around £600+ for blu ray and £350+ for HD DVD (at the moment, I think... correct me if I'm wrong).

You cannot get HD from a DVD source, as the content on DVDs does not have a HD resolution. However, some DVD players will upscale, i.e. convert the picture into a higher resolution, but of course all it's doing really is guessing what colour pixels to add, so it won't look anything like the real HD picture.

The cheapest way to get HD content is from Sky HD, which is normaly £300 for the box, but it's likely you'd be able to find a special offer if purchased with a new, HD Ready TV. Of course this also incurs a £10/month charge, on top of what you already pay for Sky.

Jez