1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Screens gone green

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by rudy, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Noticed i had sky on wrong setting(PAL) and changed it to RGB, scart control on. All was fine til this morning when I switched on my Hitachi 32pd5200 and it had a strange green tinge :eek: . By switching back to pal normal colour came back. Obviously i would like the better PQ of RGB setting.

    Whats this about?
     
  2. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,980
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +129
    Jiggle the scart lead about a bit. Sounds like the scart plug is not properly seated and the red terminal is not inputting. This would not be a problem on a composite signal.
     
  3. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Long overdue a change to comp. cheers for that
     
  4. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +652
    quote 'Long overdue a change to comp'

    What do you mean by this Rudy ? Are you getting it mixed up with a component connection.

    PAL normal on Sky is composite and looks bloody awful.Sounds like a dodgy scart lead to me,go and get a nice new expensive one, RGB scart is the best picture possible on Sky at the moment.
     
  5. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,980
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +129
    RGB scart is the best picture possible on Sky at the moment

    Apart from SDI of course, but that's a whole other story.
     
  6. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +652
    come on phillip,you know what i mean, if Rudy is contemplating a long overdue change to composite I don't think he's considering an SDI connection.

    Sorry, I should have said 'RGB scart is the best picture possible on Sky at the moment without modding your Digibox'
     
  7. rudy

    rudy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry, i should have explained better. I have been meaning to buy a new scart (sky) to component(plasma) lead. The scart connection on the Hitachi is'nt supposed to be great.
     
  8. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    I agree.

    I've seen some stupid greens on the 7200.

    Running the AVIA disc helped a bit.

    I hope the HD Sky boxes are better.
     
  9. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,463
    Hello all

    Now I remember why its best to keep away from the Plasma Forum :)

    rudy - your SCART equipped Digibox can Output Composite Video (often labelled as PAL in the Digibox set up menu) or RGB.

    There is no Provision for a YUV 'Component' output on 99% of Digibox designs - one or two Freeview units do offer YUV on SCART but as I say they are rare.

    If you have a TV with a SCART Input and it too is RGB enabled there is little or no reason to contemplate a move to convert your RGB source signal to YUV; you cant do it with a cable you require an active transcoder (which means spending £150+ for no visible benefit to your picture quality).

    Have you confirmed your TV is set to RGB on its SCART Input - possibly it 'forgot' this setting when you powered it down. As others have said a loose SCART socket is another possibility - this can happen with expensive SCART cables just as readily as it does with inexpensive SCART cables.

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS Badger0-0 - you aren't suggesting your Hitachi is anything but perfect; are you!!!
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I've found, as with Pioneers, that the component input on Hitachis is noticeably better than scart. Why do so many plasmas have trouble with scart?
     
  11. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921

    LOL

    Hi Joe,

    I've never said it is perfect mate.
    Regardless of what people say, the 7200 has good blacks when set up properly, just not as good as the Panny 6 and I'm very happy with it.
    I assume you're referring to the other thread.
    I just like to see two sides in a discussion :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...