1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ScreenGoo, is it as good as a screen !!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by loadsofleads, Jul 26, 2005.

1. loadsofleads

loadsofleads

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is some special paint used as a 'wall screen' for PJ, I think it's called ScreenGoo or something. Anybody have any expirience with this stuff, and if so how does it compare to different quality screens.

2. Timbo21

Timbo21

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +263
    I have no experience of ScreenGoo, but I've heard it's not bad, but isn't quite as good as a decent screen. Additionally most people seem to find that a screen with a black border is much more pleasing a viewing experience. Also, some of the fixed frame screens have velvet type black materials over the borders for the purpose of absorbing any light that hits them.

I have a fixed frame in my front room. I was a bit wary of how it would look not having a retractable screen, but am well pleased with it. And it looks really cool
    even when not in use. But for some who don't want a screen or can't accomodate
    one, ScreenGoo is a good alternative. However, I think you might need very smooth walls for the best picture. If you use it make sure you get some good advice on getting the best from it.

3. loadsofleads

loadsofleads

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers, I used to be a plasterer, so getting a good finish on the wall in no problem, I'll trowel it over about 6 times :D
    I would like a electric screen but they are very expensive, might just try the Goo.

4. PJTX100

PJTX100

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +562