1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Screen performance?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by rigman, Jul 15, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,763
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    If you change your screen for a better quality one do you automatically get a better picture or does the projector have to be re-tweeked?

    Obviously the screen would have to be the same size and sit in the same place as the old one. Projector is Barcographics 808s with 300 hours on the tubes.

    cheers
    Darren
     
  2. Matinee

    Matinee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    bolton
    Ratings:
    +0
    That depends on the screen. If the gain on your new screen differs from the old, you'll need to adjust contrast and brightness. If one of the colours has been pushed up a tad to cope with the old screen it may need moving down again etc.

    So, yes, you're basically looking at some tweaking.

    PK
     
  3. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Define better screen. Higher gain or tab tensioned?

    Even changing from a white wall to a Stewart studio tech from the projector point of view I would be very surprised if you would need to adjust any thing other than mechanical focus.

    Very few screens have a colour cast.
     
  4. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,763
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    At the moment I have a Dalite Cosmopolitan Electrol with video spectra coating which is 1.5 gain.
    I am thinking of changing it for a fixed screen sometime in the near future with Stewart Studiotek material. I think the gain is 1.3.

    thanks

    Darren
     
  5. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Side by side they are very close.
     
  6. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,763
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Roland,

    are you saying then that the difference would not be worth the extra money?

    on a separate issue, did you get my email regarding the re-installation of my Barco in my new house?

    thanks
    Darren
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...