Screen / Monitor

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by RichIbizaSport, Mar 20, 2006.

1. RichIbizaSport

RichIbizaSport
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys. New here so go easy on me! ive recently been looking at buying an xbox 360. Im sure i'll take the plunge soon but could do with abit more info about the display options.

Being a student i dont have a rediculous amount of money to throw about so im trying to do everything as cheap as possible :) .

I currently have a cheap 21" tv screen, and two LCD pc monitors one 17", the other 19". Im guessing playing the xbox 360 on the cheap 21" tv screen is pretty rubbish. So im thinking about using one of the pc monitors, as i certainly dont have £500 odd for a HDTV!

Now as i understand it is possible to connect to a pc monitor via a VGA connector? Is that the only piece of equipment i will need? Also will the quality be any better when compared to the 21" tv screen?

If i do manage to connect one of the pc monitors will it actually be classed as HD?

Also im looking for a reasonably cheap 5.1 surround sound speaker system (i have 5.1 speakers for the pc, but i assume they wont works as there is no optical cable in) so could anyone suggest one for about £75-£100? or am i way out price wise?

Thanks in advance guys!
    Rich

2. drskhaled

drskhaled

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +108
    I use vga on a 19" and it looks razor sharp but the colours appear muted via vga (get the oficial vga lead for best results). It is HD in so much as its hi definition, in fact it'll be higher definition than a regular hd set (its not truly hd in terms of hdcp etc, but so what). Try it on the 21" set to check how bad you feel the colours are for yurself.

3. Chaplain

Chaplain

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    LCD 19inch + joytech VGA lead = very nice picture.