1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Screen door

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by phlashman, Apr 14, 2003.

1. phlashman

phlashman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a noob and don't know what it is and/or how it's avoided.

Could some one enlighten me. because i sounds bad as it has a kind of 'lock haw' vibe.

2. nathan_silly

nathan_silly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a side effect of LCD projection. It's the gaps between the pixels. For example, look closely at a laptop's screen. You can see a fine grid. This is screendoor- when a LCD matrix is blown upto 10' then the black grid is more noticeable.

The higher resolution LCD matrix's will show less screendoor.

3. phlashman

phlashman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    so it's the same as 'chickenwire'?

is there anything you can do to make it better if you get it?

4. nathan_silly

nathan_silly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, similar to chicken wire.

Solutions..
    Make the image smaller
    Sit further away
    Get a better LCD PJ with a higher LCD matrix rez
    or buy a CRT PJ (superior IMO!)

Also think if you defocus slightly it'll hide the screen door- at the expensive of detail.

5. Anders_UK

Anders_UK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its a inherent problem with a fixed matrix projector, the DLP's suffer slightly more because as well as the spacings of the mirrors, you have to consider the area of the pedestal it is mounted too.

I would say though with a decent res projector i.e. XGA or SXGA and a sensible size image, and viewing distance then you won't really notice it. The effects are less than what you get on a plasma.

6. phlashman

phlashman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0