Screen Compatibility- 1.1 Gain for Epson TW5210

iybyisyl

Hi, I have been using the Epson TW5210 for about 5 years on a painted surface (Dulux colour Egyptian cotton- Beige/Grey). The projector is probably one of the best £500 I've ever spent. I sit about 10ft away, central and benefit from a large image. About 1000 hrs on lamp.
The Projector isn't perfect and does have very minor issues with motion handling, typically when watching football/sport- as camera pans there are some image issues , but nothing to really complain about.
Last week to facilitate TV wall mount such that Projector screen could drop down and cover TV I purchased this item from Amazon

PHC 120" 16:9 Matte Grey motorised remote control electric projector projection HD screen Amazon productMatt grey, 1.1 gain
I mounted it this weekend in my living room

Matt grey, 1.1 gain

The image blacks have been boosted as I might have expected/hoped for, but the motion handing is now quite bad (Source Sky HD and Netflix HD), so much so that I cant watch football/sport.
Movies are better, but even then I can detect picture disturbances that I have not been able to see before. Its hard to accurately describe but its almost like watching the picture through a fine net curtain when there is motion.

Is this a function of poor screen choice by me?
Should I seek another screen?
Would zero gain be more beneficial and more akin to the previous painted wall image?
Would an upgrade to a new LCD Projector help?

Ideally I'd still like to achieve my aspiration to wall mount TV.

Projector Spec

Thanks for any thoughts.
J

Last edited:

3rdignis

From your link describes 3 different screen choices.
Matt white 1.1 gain.
Glass bead white 2.5 gain.
Matt grey high contrast 0.8 gain.

If you have the grey screen you have made a good choice.

3rdignis

Your picture will be better the darker you can get the room.
Pond lining and electrical tape makes 0 damage blackout conditions.