screen burn again

G

grayson

im getting a new plasma any tips on how to avoid it, are they alright after the first 100hrs

emad

Banned for trading fraud
Hi

Plasmas are usually sent with high contrast & brightness settings from the factory. First thing to do is reduce these two to the minimum you can do for the first 2 weeks.

Some plasmas are more prone to screen burn than others, but the above advice applies to all.

Also, try to avoide channel logos such as SKY news, some children's channels are notorios for these as well as HUD from PS2 & XboX games.

Good luck

Emad

mikedown

Standard Member
and a word of warning for the uninitiated, i was told by a salesman , when asking about screen burn that no run in time was needed, i was just to treat it like a normal telly and he was supposed to be an expert .

S

sjw998r

red dot??
wassthat??

i awaiting a pioneer 434hde+dv868 and will be a complete noob to plasma!
is screen burn really a problem on new plasma's??

Pollywoggle

Red dot on sky channels espec news ones for interactive services etc, press backup to remove!

sticker

Standard Member
Screen burn has not been a problem on my screen, but I was fairly apprehensive about. Just be sensible in the first 200 hours I would say, after that no problem. I've never seen any residual image on mine and sometimes I've left a static image on screen for a couple of hours, played console games for hours etc.

Getting rid of the red dot/logo's becomes 2nd nature after a while :)

Regards
John

duke748

You could always invest in A Red dot remover.

Basically little gadget that sends the backup command every 30 seconds

A

AVnico

what would be sensible values for brightness / contrast on a Pio434 ?
Guess lowering these two and switching on the powersave feature will be sufficient for the first couple of weeks.

thanks
nico

emad

Banned for trading fraud
mine is

Contrast 35
Brightness +3

Anything below that is - to my eyes- unwatchable