1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

schematics

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by johnson, Jun 12, 2005.

  1. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi
    Would any of the ex TMA employees have schematics for the 250*3/100*5 amps?
    Not for any reason other than I've quite an interest in amp design(only recently) and would love to have a look!
    Best regards
     
  2. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
  3. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks Steve
    Much appreciated
    Regards
     
  4. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    If you're interested in aspects of other amp design etc,you could also take a look at www.passdiy.com which is the DIY end of Nelson Pass's amplifier and speaker design collection...everything from the old Zen amps to the Aleph's are in there,plus some fascinating home built designs based on his schematics.
     
  5. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi Alex.
    Thanks, I'll check it out.
    I've already downloaded the bryston schematics (thanks Steve).Very interesting.
    One comment, the TMA designs seem to "get away" with relatively small caps when compared to some of their competition.
    Regards
     
  6. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    If the amplifier design has good ripple rejection capability then you don't need huge smoothing capacitors. This also has the benefit of smaller amplifiers, reduced cost and normally higher performance in the real world as fluctuations on the supply side don't make it through to the output.
     
  7. The_Speculum

    The_Speculum
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
  8. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yeah thanks,The TNT one was the first one I read.

    Steve, thanks for the explanation
    Regards
     
  9. johnson

    johnson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    550
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    A friend of mine recently had his Quad amp serviced by IAG.
    They told him they had measured the caps and they had degraded over time and needed replacing . Which they did .
    I don't doubt they had degraded or that they needed replacing, but I was wondering , what equipment would you use to mesure the degradation of the caps?
    Is it something anyone with a reasonable knowledge could do?

    Regards
     
  10. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Use a LCR meter. You can use some multimeters that have a capacitor mode, but they're typically not that accurate on large electrolytics.

    You normally find that by the time you've stripped the equipment down and removed them sufficiently out of circuit to measure, you may as well as changed them expecially if they're getting on a bit.
     
  11. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Oh if I had a pound for everytime I've done that......
     
  12. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    A clue maybe to why they all sound the same ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...