1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scheimpflug and Optimisation

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Lux In Umbra, Jul 7, 2004.

1. Lux In Umbra

Lux In Umbra

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could the experts here help me with the following "problem" (I'm a novice, particularly when it comes to "Scheimpflug!):

I'm going to be setting up/installing a Barco 708 soon, which has been used up to now for displaying a 2.4m wide image.

Since I have a constraint on the minimum height above ground of the screen (~115cm), and am projecting upwards (as was in previous setup), a 2.4m width image would put the projector lens height at aprox 160cm above ground, which is a little stratospheric.

I also think a 90" image (2.0m width) is better suited to my set-up (~4.0m screen to eye).

(Both situations unfortunately enforce a viewing position right at the edge of the screen, to avoid the image being blocked by the projector!).

Now (finally!) to my questions:

This projector has three Scheimpflug ranges, with "optimal screen widths" of 1.4m ; 2.4m and 4m.
    Can someone explain these "optimal" widths?
    Does it mean that setting up for a 2.4m width means simply setting the Scheimpflug ring to the preset position will give the perfect results, whereas with (say) 2.0m, extra adjustment is required? Or does it mean that one always sets to the closest range setting, and puts up with the imperfections??

Given this, is it any better to put up with a cloud-mounted projector, and huge images, or can it be set up just as well for 2.0m wide images?

Thanks for your patience (if you made it this far!!)

PS: Does the screen ratio (16:9, versus "standard" 4:3) make any difference from a Scheimpflug perspective?