1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SCART to S-Video on Panny 6

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by daveb975, Dec 22, 2003.

  1. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +242
    Is it possible to use a SCART to S-Video cable to feed a Freeview signal into a Panny 6 plasma?

    I have a free S-Video connection, and this would save me buying a £130 SCART board.
     
  2. DucatiEVO

    DucatiEVO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't see why not, I do it the other way around for my Xbox and go S-video into Scart (the Panny6) with no problems.

    What board are you using, if it's the dual one that shares an S-Video with a Composite connection then you can only use one at a time.
     
  3. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    It is NOT possible since the freeview box isn't actually sending out an s-video signal type, it will be sending out composite video and RGB video. You can either run scart to composte video (very poor quality), buy a suitable converter to convert RGB to S-video (80 quid) or just buy the scart board!
     
  4. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +242
    Thanks Liam.

    I think I will just buy the SCART board in that case.

    I am in the Tun Wells area over Christmas - do you keep them in stock?
     
  5. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Doesn't this depend on the Freeview box being used? My Sony one has an option of S-video (Y/C) on the main SCART.

    Not sure of how the quality compares to RGB SCART though. (I use RGB SCART myself with my PW6).

    Mark
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Liam, surely you've come across freeview boxes that do s-video on scart? Loads do, netgem, sony, nokia, pace even does it on scart 2, and that's not unique. What's proposed may be perfectly feasible, but before buying anything, look in the video setup menu of the box and see what the options are. S-video signals are as pointed out, not quite up to RGB standard, but not half bad, quite watchable for most of us on a plasma. Not you Jasonjo of course, but most of us.
     
  7. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +242
    I doubt my 'Freeview' box will have anything like that (it is one of the old ONDigital Philips ones!)

    It sounds as though it could be cheaper to upgrade to an S-Video compatible Freeview box, but if RGB will be better quality I guess I may as well get the SCART board for the plasma.

    Thanks for the opinions.
     
  8. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Cheeky Git! :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...