SCART to Composite Adapters

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by Tatterdemalion, Oct 26, 2001.

Tags:
  1. Tatterdemalion

    Tatterdemalion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just bought a Thomson VTH 7090 VCR wich I have been trying to connect to my portable TVs and PC TV Card with a coaxial cable.

    The manufacturers have informed me that this will not work becuase the unit does not have a "PLL Modulator".

    Consequently I require a SCART to Composite adapter. Can anyone recommend a supplier of these ?
     
  2. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
  3. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    You can get them in most highstreet tv shops no probs for a few quid, easier and quicker than waiting net perhaps.
    BTW glad to have helped matie!
     
  4. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    You mean... go... outdoors? Outside? With other people?

    Are you serious?
     
  5. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    I would answer more fully pointon but the pizza man is at the door along with the Tesco delivery guy and the cathater extension cable guy. So no I didn't mean me leave the place, are you mad or eccentric or something
     
  6. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can one not be all three?
     
  7. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    My doctor assures I can, argh cheese on the keys again, doh
     
  8. Tatterdemalion

    Tatterdemalion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have now discovered that the Thomson VTH 7090 is not compatible with any equipment that does not have a SCART input and that there is, seemingly, no way around this.

    Is this commonplace with the current range of VCRs on the market or is it a Thomson "innovation" ? I'd like to know if I am going to face the same problem with other models and brands.

    I have a Hauppauge Win TV PC card with a coaxial input that I wanted to connect the vid' to. IF I were to buy Hauppauge's LATEST whsitles and bells card it STILL wouldn't have a SCART input and so this Thomson VTH 7090 would still be no use to me.
     
  9. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    And a scart<-->composite adaptor does not work?
     
  10. Tatterdemalion

    Tatterdemalion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't been able to find anyone who can supply one - I have e.mailed dozens and dozens of stores - resulting in three flat "No"s whilst Thomson themselves have now said that it isn't going to work....


    It's very disappointing but looks as though it's a bullet I have no choice but to bite.
     
  11. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    Hello, didn't you say on the other thread I replied to that you got moving images with the yellow composite out on vid to same yellow composite on the Haupage card you have, albeit with no sound? If you can get video then all you need to do is connect a phono cable for sound from vid to card, assuming Haupage has sound input.
    As for the scart adapter try highstreet electrical shops they'll have one for sure. I have a ATI card that ships a scart head as standard with the card for this purpose and they do work - even though I use the S-video cause it looks best for graphics card. I think a trip into the brave new world of the highstreet is all you need - plus a tranq or two maybe.:eek:
     
  12. pointon

    pointon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Right behind you!!!
    Ratings:
    +3
    Don't see why a VCR would only be compatible with a piece of hardware by scart alone. There's nothing really special about a VCR's video output so I don't see why a Scart<-->phono/coax-video switch thingy shouldn't work. Give it a go, they're not that expensive, so get yourself to Dixons... Always have tonnes of the things in my local store. They might also sell them in video game stores - I have one with my N64.
     
  13. Tatterdemalion

    Tatterdemalion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  14. Tatterdemalion

    Tatterdemalion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep - I mailed some computer game vendors yesterday (before Thomson told me to forget it) in case they did a suitable adapter. Can Playstation 2s and will the X-Box be able to be used on outputs that don't have a SCART ? Could I run a games machine through the composite input on my Hauppage TV card ??
     
  15. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    the 4 phono sockets on the vid should be a pair for input and a pair for output - see your manual
    As for game unit they do both coax and scart now. Why not buy a newer and bigger tv a low end one would be better than small portables and not that expensive - benefits far over what you are far coughing around with now!?
     
  16. EddyC

    EddyC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    There isn't anything special about a SCART connector; it's
    just a way of putting video and audio signals onto a single
    connector rather than splitting them across three separate
    plugs. You can get a small switchable adapter that converts
    this back into separate audio and video sockets for just a
    couple of quid from any decent supplier.

    I've seen the same problem with NTSC on the WinTV card; I'm not sure what the cause is, but it seems to cure itself if you shrink the window down below a certain size (300 pixels wide?)

    Eddy
     

Share This Page

Loading...