1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SCART to Component lead on PW7

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by blackmanalishi, May 8, 2005.

  1. blackmanalishi

    blackmanalishi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I recently purchased a Clicktronic SCART to RGB/YUV Component lead to connect my Sky+ box to my PW7, but try as I might I can't seem to get it to work.

    Can anyone offer any advice? I don't want to go down the JS RGB>Component converter route unless I really have to, for budget reasons.

    Cheers
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well as the sky box doesnt output component you wont get a picture, Sorry............

    Which inputs do you have in plasma?
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Hiya Ads, this lead, is it scart to 3 phono or 4? And the colours of the leads, phonos or bands on the plugs? You might get it to do something for you, or might not.
     
  4. blackmanalishi

    blackmanalishi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for the delay replying, been busy rocking out!

    HornyD - I have SCART, VGA (native) and Component inputs on the plasma.

    MAW - it's a 3 phono output, colours are red, green and blue.

    Thanks guys.

    A
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    No good to you mate, you need some electronic tricks to get component out of a scart socket, unless it happens to be a Netgem freeview box. You need a JS box to do that. You could consider the VGA or component ones. I assume you use the component input for DVD? You might consider a component switch from JS, or get an amp which does it. A few more gigs to pay for it all, I presume? Do you ever perform off your home turf? Too far for me to come, your manor.
     
  6. music

    music
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    518
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +14
    Maw, I'm thinking of getting a component input board for my PW7 - (currently using js vga converter), because the bnc input boards are quite cheap [I totally cannot understand why the bnc board is so much cheaper than the rca one??]. Anyway, will my Yammy DSP-AVX750se be sufficent to convert scart rgb from sky box to proper component out do ya happen to know?? It claims to switch anything to anything, but will it give me proper component quality (my sky box has rgb out via scartThanks.
     
  7. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    Music, the bnc is cheaper only because it i sproduced by Panasonic commercial division and teh RCA is produced by the consumer division
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I am 99.9% sure it cannot convert RGBcv (RGB+ ync on composuite) to YUV/YPbPr but check your manual........it will convert Composite and S-video to component but not RGB+S
     
  9. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Yamaha won't convert RGB to YUV.

    And it would be pointless anyway, there is no quality added through converting to another signal. It's just a case of the colourspace being changed. The best solution for RGB direct to Panasonic has always been with JS RGB-VGA, if you want to use the amp for switching then you will need to buy JS RGB-YUV.
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Y'all beat me to it. Out installing for a forum member today. If your sky box has s-video the yammy will upconvert that of course, and it's pretty good usually. If you plug RGBS into it somehow, it will I think have a fit. It will be trying to upconvert composite to component, yet having RGB colourspace put through the component terminals. Don't go there.
     
  11. blackmanalishi

    blackmanalishi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info - yup, definitely need more gigs to pay for this kind of stuff, but certainly worthwhile!

    (briefly O/T - sorry!)

    We mainly play in the north west but we've been asked to headline a gig in Guildford, by Mungo Jerry's son, on Sat 18th June - it's at The Star I believe. I assume that's not too far from you, so if you can make it would be great to finally meet you. :smashin:

    Ads

     
  12. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    Hey Ads, that close to me too!
     
  13. blackmanalishi

    blackmanalishi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweeeet - let's get a posse down there! :clap:
     
  14. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    b*gger...just realised that is the weekend I'm going to visit my folks in Tenerife.....change the date mate!!! :)
     
  15. blackmanalishi

    blackmanalishi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, what a crock! Unfortunately I don't have any control over the date (which is why I'm already in trouble with the boss as I should be going to a wedding in Birmingham instead... oops!).

    Ah well, not to worry. We're always willing to play gigs down south, just need to get the contacts, so if you want to arrange us one we'll gladly give you 15% of whatever fee you can get us! :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...