scart over cat5, can i do it?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by lee2lee, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. lee2lee

    lee2lee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can i run a cat5 and put scart connectors on the end?

    i have a tv in my bedroom and i want to run a scart to it for sky, i have ran a cable from the RF output but dont like the picture quality.

    does the sky box use all the pins on a scart cable?

    Cheers
     
  2. amgard

    amgard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    near Oxford
    Ratings:
    +88

    you need to use something like this:
    madnat baluns
     
  3. lee2lee

    lee2lee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so how do they work then ?


    thanks for the reply.
     
  4. amgard

    amgard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    near Oxford
    Ratings:
    +88
    the SCART transmitter plugs into the Sky box, the SCART receiver into the TV in your bedroom, and you run CAT5 between the two.
     
  5. lee2lee

    lee2lee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    how does the technical part of it work ?

    why cant i just solder onto the scart pins ?


    Thanks
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,517
    The unbalanced signal the Source is outputting via SCART is not designed to run over long cable lengths – the extender Transmitter takes unbalanced in and outputs a balanced signal that will run over the twisted pair for the Receiver to convert back to unbalanced.

    Balun - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    You can try a straight run over CAT5 but don't be surprised if you get a poor image or no image.

    Make sure the extender you plan to use A. caters for RGB video and B. caters for audio or run audio over its own extender/receiver + CAT5 cable.

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...