1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scart Control devices with RGB video-only cables

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Bragelonne, Feb 8, 2003.

  1. Bragelonne

    Bragelonne
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi chaps,

    Is anyone using or know of a Scart control device that supports RGB video-only cables ?; specifically the QED Squart 4110.

    I bought a cheapish BTech device, which mangled the signal, so I'm reluctant to pay out for the more expensive devices until I can confirm this; no sites seem to have definitive information regarding this issue.

    Another potential fly in the ointment might be the fact that I need to mix the types of lead. I'd want two video-only RGBs in, two fully-wired RGBs in and one RGB (either type) out. Is this feasible ? :confused:

    Any responses appreciated
     
  2. Bragelonne

    Bragelonne
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump :(

    Hard to believe that nobody has had this dilemma; I suppose everyone just uses fully-wired RGB scarts or doesn't need more than their TV can handle.

    [sigh...]
     
  3. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,112
    I use the scart data switch boxes from lektropacks. mechanical switchboxes in two versions: 2 into 1 or 4 into 1 : they are biderectional and fully wired. Bit ugly but work well.
     
  4. Bragelonne

    Bragelonne
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the response.

    Do you use the directional video-only cables on both input and output from the switcher ?
     
  5. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...