Scart Connections

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by MaKSiNG, Jan 15, 2003.

  1. MaKSiNG

    MaKSiNG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Again,

    I have the Sony KV32-FQ75.
    I have 3 scart connections on the back.

    Scart 1 is RGB;
    Scart 2 and 3 are S-Video.

    Can someone tell me where I should connect VCR, DVD and NTL box?
    I guess Scart 2 and 3 are identical.
    What does RGB give me, or how does it differ from the others?

    Sorry for the stoopid questions? :confused:

    TIA,

    MaK
     
  2. clearys

    clearys
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +14
    depends on how often you play DVD's really.

    If you mostly watch NTL then use that with RGB and connect DVD to S-Video as most players will allow S-Video via scart cable, otherwise buy a svideo-scart cable and connect that way.

    VCR will not do RGB output so connect that to normal scart connection
     
  3. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,465
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +168
    Ideally uou want your ntl AND DVD set up as RGB as this will give the best possible picture.

    Does your vcr have a second scart socket?

    If so then connect as follows.

    (using fully wired RGB SCART leads)

    Scart from ntl 'TV SCART' to AV1 on TV
    (set up both devices to RGB).

    VCR goes into 'VCR SCART' on NTL.

    DVD goes into second scart on vcr.

    All devices play on AV1

    To record from ntl, set vcr to record off scart input (AV1 or whatever manual refers to it as)

    That's it.
     
  4. clearys

    clearys
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +14
    will the VCR pass through the RGB? also I thought the Video connection on the NTL box was composite/Svideo only so will this pass it through as well?
     
  5. MaKSiNG

    MaKSiNG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Will it degrade the signal at all having everything running through Scart1?

    How much of a difference is there (in real terms) between the picture from the DVD if it runs via RGB socket or S-Video socket?

    Also, I have a cable for the DVD Player which has Scart on one end to S-Video on the other end. However, when I plug the DVD into Scart2 (which is S-Video enabled) on the TV, I would expect to see AV2-S on the TV but it only seems to show AV2. Is this a feature on Sony TVs? And is the signal really AV2-S even though it is not shown on screen. It is just that I know with Panasonic sets you get the option of AV2 or AV2-S (same for AV3)?

    MaK
     
  6. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,465
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +168
    Well my NTL Box has RGB/Composite out on one scart and Composite in/out and RGB in on the other.

    So, yes the vcr (VHS) will pass thru using the composite pin.

    The DVD will pass thru using the RGB in on/out on the VCR and STB.

    Note the RGB in/out on the vcr SCARTS is purely for stb/dvd loopthru only. The vcr itself only uses the composite pin for video.

    No S-Video option on my stb.

    This may differ with different providers/stb models.

    I have a Pace 1000 (early model).
     
  7. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,465
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +168
    No

    This is debatable, but generally RGB is better depending on the TV. My old WS Sony was MUCH better on RGB than S-Video as is my current Tosh

    Same happened with my old Sony.
    You have to mannualy select AV2-S everytime.
    There maybe a setting in the 'engineers menu' to get it to default to AV2-S, but sorry I can't help you there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice