scart connection nightmare.....please help me

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by jeffod, Dec 20, 2006.

  1. jeffod

    jeffod
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi, please help as i have major problems with the connections as i dont really know what im doing to be honest...:rolleyes:
    its all gone wrong since i got sky+ installed and connected my new dvd recorder the other day.
    i am after the best way to connect it all up properly-

    tv is a tosh 32zp48 with 3 scart, ext 1,ext 2 and ext 3 (audio/video)

    dvd combi is tosh,dvr16- dvd/vcr recorder with 2 scart with av1(tv) and av2 decoder. there is also a component video out :confused:

    xbox 360.

    thomson sky+ box also.

    i can get sound on sky for example but then there is no sound on the dvd player or visa versa.. i would like to be able to record on disk from sky also.

    can anyone give me the correct proceedure to wire it all up,any help apprieciated!!!!!

    tommorow i am off to buy 3 new scart cables to see if this helps at all..:lease: :lease:
     
  2. andykn

    andykn
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +232
    Things to think about:

    1/ Check what sockets on the TV support RGB input - not all do usually

    2/ The DVD and Sky + boxes should both support "RGB passthrough"; if you connect, say, AV1 from the Sky+ box to AV2 of the DVD and AV1 of the DVD to AV1 of the TV you'll get RGB from the Sky+ box when the DVD is turned off.

    3/ Some cheaper SCART leads don't carry RGB, only Composite.

    4/ The Sky box needs to be set up to output RGB.
     
  3. dannius

    dannius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +349
    As Andykn mentioned I'd go AV1 on Sky + box to AV2 on DVD recorder, then AV1 on DVD recorder to AV1 on your TV.

    So maybe buy 2 decent scart leads for this purpose.

    For 360 you should connect this up to your TV by component. I see from the spec on the Toshiba site that your TV has component inputs.

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. jeffod

    jeffod
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi,

    1. in the user manual im sure it states that ext.1. and ext.2. are rgb compatable, does that sound right ???

    2. dont really know what you mean andykn!!! are you saying connect sky to the dvd and then dvd to tv ????

    3. was planning on currys,b&q etc (thor,ixos)

    4. on sky the scart control is set to 'on' and video output is 'rgb'. is that correct ??

    sorry about the questions but ive been on here tonight since about 7pm searching for any info and after reading 100's of posts im more confused than ever!!
    thank you andykn
     
  5. jeffod

    jeffod
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi dannius, as previous post says im more confused than ever !!!

    will get new scart tom.

    the 360 is using the lead it came with into a scart adapter in ext.2. before the sky+ and dvd were put it worked fine,now its hit and miss.. i think it could be something to do with the av connections setting on my tv also as when i change and get sound on one ext the other goes off!

    my av set up says ;
    digital input-1
    digital input-2
    EXT3 input
    EXT3 output
    what the hell does all that mean ?????????????

    thanks mate
     
  6. dannius

    dannius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +349
    I don't know your TV mate so a bit hard to help really.

    If your 360 is a premium system then use the component connectors straight into your TV's component inputs. Thats green, purple & red plus the red/white for sound (ignore the yellow wire). This way you will get a progressive scan picture, the best possible from your TV.

    The DVD recorder/Sky + should then use AV1 and AV2 which are both RGB enabled scart sockets.

    However if your want to record from Sky you will need to put your Sky + box into your DVD recorder then into the TV.

    Make sure in all the settings that RGB is selected.
     
  7. jeffod

    jeffod
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi,
    i did that first with the xbox 360 but if i recall i didnt get any sound so the easiest way was to plug the lead in the scart adapter,3 leads,plug in and play! there are 3 wires that are unplugged but it works fine. sorry yes its a premium 360.

    off to get some new leads now and have another go:rolleyes:

    thanks dannius
     
  8. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +246
    The back of your TV should look like this:

    [​IMG]

    The AV lead with a Premium 360 should connect to the cluster of 5 connectors that make up input 4 (component video - red, green, blue and stereo audio - red, white).

    Then your Sky box and DVD player can connect to AV1 and AV2....
     
  9. andykn

    andykn
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +232
    1. Thats good, two RGB SCARTS.

    2. Yes, you then get RGB going through the DVD so you can record from it. But you'll only be able to see the Sky box if the DVD is off (or recording I think). Alternatively you could connect:
    - Sky SCART 1 to TV Ext 1
    - DVD SCART 1 to TV Ext 2
    - Sky SCART 2 to DVD SCART2
    but then you've got no way of recording RGB; I don't think the Sky box outputs RGB on SCART 2.

    3. Sounds fine

    4. Correct.

    For your XBox you need to connect the Red and White leads to get audio; there should be an audio input on the TV that goes with the Red, Green and Blue phono component inputs. If you use the Yellow phono into SCART, that's only Composite video, which isn't as good.
     
  10. jeffod

    jeffod
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    right mate,
    got 3 new thor scarts today so rigged it all up,.

    everything is tuned in as it should got bbc1,2 itv c4,c5.
    ext 1 sky+
    ext 2 dvr combi
    ext4 component xbox 360 WOW! :smashin:

    the only problem now is the dvr combi has no sound but all the required channels are programmed in and as far as i know the leads are correct unless its something to do with the rf input and output thingys!!
     
  11. jeffod

    jeffod
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    BINGO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    got sound on everything now:D

    thanks to you guys who led me on a difficult but most helpful path! as i said i dont really know what im doing but i got there in the end.give me a piece of wood rather than scart cables and the like anyday of the week!

    i still cant believe the difference with the xbox on the component cable,its like i got a plasma,well sort of !

    one thing i will say though is im very dissapointed with the scart cables compared to the cheapo ones i had before. dont know if its just me but i cant see any difference whatsoever bearing in mind im £60 lighter in the pocket.:thumbsdow
    maybe i expected more or maybe because im stuck in the dark ages with my crt.
    nevermind though but thanks to you lot ive got what wanted in the end,sound and picture together at last..........

    thanks again chaps:smashin: :smashin: :smashin:
     
  12. dannius

    dannius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +349
    Glad you got it sorted mate! :thumbsup:
     
  13. jeffod

    jeffod
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    yeah thanks for your help on this.:smashin:

    shame the scarts i got are crap!!!!
     
  14. dannius

    dannius
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +349
    I don't think the Scarts you got are crap. I have a THOR Scart on the DVD player in my bedroom and I think it's pretty good.

    TBH I am not really much of a cable guy so to speak. I can never really tell the difference in picture quality between a poor and a decent cable. I always end up buying good cables though just for the better build quality.
     

Share This Page

Loading...