1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scart cables and adapters: RGB as standard?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by SyG, Apr 24, 2005.

  1. SyG

    SyG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Simple question – do all 21 pin scart connectors transmit RGB, or do they have to be ‘special’ RGB scart pieces of equipment?

    Answers apprciated! :smashin:
     
  2. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    A fully wired SCART will cover everything (composite, s-video and RGB) and is non-directional. There is a view, however, that unused cores may aid interference/signal degradation hence the introduction of RGB only SCARTS which, if I remember correctly, are directional.

    Personally, I've never had any problem with fully wired and prefer the flat variety for ease of connection.
     
  3. SyG

    SyG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, thanks!
     
  4. thedude

    thedude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8,652
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,616
    we sell some at comet that have 21 pins but dont send RGB be warned
     
  5. SyG

    SyG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ooh, hang on - does this apply to switcboxes also?
     
  6. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Unfortunately yes, though the product description should tell you what type of signals/functions the product supports.

    For example, this device only supports stereo audio and composite video, whereas this device supports S-Video on all inputs and RGB on four.
     
  7. SyG

    SyG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm... this makes things a bit more difficult, but I'm in the know now.

    OK, thanks!
     
  8. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is there something specific you're after?
     
  9. SyG

    SyG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I'm sorting my newly decorated bedroom out (moved a few months ago and have been sleeping in a wallpaperless, carpetless hole until now). The electrics are all coming out and I'm getting a 21" TV with two scarts and a composite input.

    Only one of the scarts is RGB, and I want an audio output anyway. The composite is input only, so I plan to use the non RGB scart as audio out and want to get for games consoles and a DVD player into this one scart socket. After all of the info I've gathered, I'll probably go for this. I'd love to get a Quintro, but money- y'know? The DVD player will probably have to go into the composite. :rolleyes:

    If I could split the second scart so that I could input a signal and output audio simultaneously, that'd be great for the non-RGB consoles, so the DVD could go in the scart multi-box, but I don't know if that's possible.
     
  10. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    I bought a 3 in 1 manually switchable RGB SCART block from Game (£9.99) for my son (he's got a Freeview Box and a PS2). The one you're looking at appears to be a 4 in 1 manual RGB SCART switch block.

    Plug your DVD player and games console/s into the inputs of the SCART block (obviously these leads need to be RGB compatible; i.e. your best bet would be fully wired) and then the flying lead of the switch block into the RGB SCART of the TV. Switch inputs to the TV on the block.
     
  11. SyG

    SyG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya, but I have 4 consoles and a DVD player - totalling to 5 inputs. That's where the problems start!
     
  12. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    It may be a bit ungainly, but you could always daisy chain two switch blocks.
     
  13. SyG

    SyG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I've thought about this, but I'm worried about signal loss. :(
     
  14. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Don't be.
     
  15. SyG

    SyG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    How come? Surely it'll get pretty ugly once a signal has been through TWO switch boxes?

    I did ask about this here, but I got no reply. :(
     
  16. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    They're just passive switch boxes, no different to daisy chaining SCART leads to make one long one.
     
  17. SyG

    SyG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would've thought that daisy-chaining scarts would give signal degredation too.

    Well, if you're sure, I'll just get another decent scart box and wire 'em all up. Now my only problem is getting it all to look tidy...:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...