Scantronic 500r+ alarm, how to turn alarm off in power cut

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by maceca, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. maceca

    maceca
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    new member in search of some help. I have read the instructions manual several times but cannot find the answer. I was hoping if someone on here could help. I looked at calling cooper but there only speak to specialists.

    I have a Scantronic 500r+ house alarm. When the power is cut the alarm goes off from the siren outside (I am ok that it does this as it shows that it will sound if some cuts the power when trying to break in).

    So 2 questions.

    1. How can I stop the alarm going off when the power is cut. It has an internal battery (but this doesnt show on the display as being low power). I want to do some electrical work, but when I trip the fuse box the alarm goes off. Is there a code to put in? I tried hitting the reset/zero button so the alarm LED flashes before turning the power but this didnt work.

    2. How do i turn the alarm off when there is a power cut. The display seems not to respond to inputs.

    Many Thanks
     
  2. supraTTman

    supraTTman
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Portsmouth, Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +166
    It does sound like a 'tired' back-up battery in the main alarm unit - when was it last changed? The alarm shouldn't go off during a power cut, though it should display 'mains failure' on the control panel.
     
  3. maceca

    maceca
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Many thanks. I will give that a go.

    I see on the battery it says rechargeable. Would the alarm normally charge it itself or is that so I can recharge it outside the system?
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
  4. sy278

    sy278
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    510
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    Normally the panel will recharge it, however, the fuse may have blown or the battery has reached the end of its life and needs to be replaced as it is no longer able to be charged.
     
  5. maceca

    maceca
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep. Spot on. The fuse had blown. Replaced now

    Will see if it gives the battery any charge before I replace that

    Many thanks for the advice.
     

Share This Page

Loading...