1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scalers...explain please...

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Roohster, Sep 16, 2004.

  1. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    I'm looking to improve the image from my SKY+ box and wonder if a decent scaler would help?

    The setup I have is:
    Panasonic PW3 42" Plasma
    SKY+ digibox, connected via s-video, through Arcam AVR200 amp at the moment.
    Arcam DV88plus, connected direct to monitor via component.

    Obviously, as Im using the component input on the Panny for my DVD, I cant utilise the monitors RGB capability for my SKY signal.
    I tried a simple RGB - VGA converter, but the results weren't too good.

    Any suggestions?
    Thanks
     
  2. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    ....anyone?.... :lease:
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,983
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    Yes a decent scaler is likely to help. Next question is, what's a decent scaler......

    Gordon
     
  4. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    No, the next question is, how will it work?
    Does the scaler have an RGB input?
    What output does it have to my plasma?
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,983
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    Depends on the scaler. The ones I distribute have RGBcompositesync inputs. They output RGBHV, RGsB, YPrPb via analogue or DVI to a DVI or HDMI input. They have advanced oversampling analogue to digital convertors to capture the incoming signal where they do the processing in the digital domain. Film and video source material is recognised and processed using the most appropriate algorithms before being scaled and output as required.

    You could use a SCART to 4phono lead to one input and a set of component leads from your DVD player to another. Each input can be set to auto sense incoming signal type and load up specific input memories which have been tweaked specifically for your sources. This allows independany setting of contrast/brightess/colour/etc as well as input size/position (overscan) per signal type per input. They also do a few other things that are a bt complex to get in to right now.

    I'd have a chat with some of the dealers on here. Joe at The Media Factory, Liam at Progressive-AV and MAW at The Bigger Picture all have experience with plasma, freeview/Sky and scalers.

    Gordon
     
  6. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    Thanks Gordon.
    What do you think would be the minimum I could spend and still get decent results?
    I'm already happy with the picture from my DVD via component,
    all I really want to do is get a decent pic from my digibox.
    I dont want to have to use loads of converters, so something that will accept RGB from SKY and output VGA would be ideal.
    Also, I want something that is simple (ish) to use!
     
  7. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    Any suggestions?
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,983
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    Look at products from Lumagen and DVDo (Anchor Bay) and Cinemateq. I distribute Lumagen but the dealers I mention do combinations of all these and should give you some good advice.

    Gordon
     
  9. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,530
    roohster2

    To install a decent quality Video Processor into you system is going to cost the best part of £1K if you want Deinterlacing and Scaling.

    Though your happy with your DVD players output a Lumagen VisionDVI (£800.00) uses a higher quality Deinterlacer than your DVD player (in fact it uses the same one Arcam use in the more upmarket FMJ products) and you'll see benefits with even that source if you install the Video Processor.

    As Gordon has indicated you can Input RGB+Composite Sync from your Digibox directly to the Video Processor so no additional adapters or converters are required.

    Another advantage of installing the Video Processor is the range and finesse of the video signal adjustments possible - the Lumagen menu's are much more refined and detailed than you get on your display; we can often see one or two additional steps of detail in signal test patterns using the Lumagen over a direct connection to the display and using multiple memory banks in the Lumagen you can have the Video Processor auto detect PAL and NTSC signals from your DVD player and pre load optimum settings for each signal type (we can also use the Lumagen to give you Daytime and Night time settings if you have a lot of ambient light in your viewing room)

    None of the Video Processors are exactly - simple to use - they are extremely versatile and programmable and whilst a dealer can pre set them to make them compatible with your display you'll get the best out of the Video Processor after lots of fiddling or have your dealer install the Processor and ISF calibrate your video system (£250).

    Any questions please shout.

    Joe
     
  10. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    Thanks for that Joe!
    It's all a bit clearer to me now.
    Now, all I've got to do is find a grand for a Lumagen...
    By the way, does anyone have any idea what sortof outputs the forthcoming SKY HiDef box is likely to have?
    Component? HDMI?
     
  11. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,585
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +271
    Hopefully both of those, and VGA would be nice too (but unlikely).

    Steve
     
  12. Roohster

    Roohster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    Just had a look at this on the IVOJO site,and it doesn't appear to have RGB inputs:

    Inputs
    Component 2 * 3 RCA
    S-Video 2
    Composite 2
    DVI-I 2 (HDCP)
    SDI Optional * 2
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    might be able to run it over DVi-I
     
  14. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,983
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,788
    The Component inputs are configureable for RGBS where the sync is taken from the composite input beside it. On the bigger Pro unit the inputs are even more configureable.

    Gordon

    component video signals are many and various....YPrPb, YCrCb, RGsB, RGBS, RGBHV, YC......
     

Share This Page

Loading...