1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

scaler

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by tech838, Sep 3, 2005.

  1. tech838

    tech838
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    hello
    could you tell me is it essential to
    have a scaler also does anyone know where
    i can get one REALLY cheap
    thank you
     
  2. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Do you need a scaler? - Well, it all depends on the capabilities of your projector.

    Most entry-level (cheaper) CRT projectors don't require a scaler, and just as importantly one cannot be added later on.

    No scaler required for:
    - Seleco 150/190/195/310/320/350/390
    - Sony 1001/1040/1041/1042
    - Barco 508
    - Videkron TGS201/301
    - RCF LS3001
    - Sinelec
    - Maxivideo

    Next tier up are the projectors that can accept a line-doubled signal. You can use either a scaler or a line doubler. These are some of the more common ones:

    - Sony 1031/D50
    - Seleco 400/420/450/500
    - Barco Data 600

    Above these you have projectors that work better with a scaler than a line doubler.

    If your budget is under £500 then you may be looking at projectors from the first tier. £750 to £1500 will get you something reasonable from the second tier. There's a Sony D50 for sale in the classifieds for about £750. You'll also need to budget for a doubler or scaler on top of the projector price.

    Just a word on cheap scalers. A couple of companies brought out entry level scalers a couple of years ago. Perhaps the most commonly seen name is the Brightview by Zinwell. It certainly scales, but in cutting costs they also cut a few corners. The Brightview has a couple of problems with its picture performance. These are quite well documented now. Your money would be better spent on a good quality s/h line doubler for similar money to a cheap scaler.

    Regards
     
  3. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    chris ,

    i have a sony 1272 q.
    what is the best option re upgrading picture quality.would the dvdo product increase the image by a lot

    rob
     
  4. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Can you be specific which DVDO product you mean? They made doublers (DVDO iScan Pro & Ultra) and now have scalers (iScan HD / HD+ / VP30). Any of these will be a big step up from most internal doubler cards fitted inside a projector.
     
  5. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +825
    If you want a good value scaler for a CRT, get a secondhand one from DVDO or Lumagen that doesn't have DVI or HDMI connections or HD input capability. Those are the features in demand that push prices up. As long as your PJ can scan 40kHz, it will be worth it, though.

    Nick
     
  6. nathsea

    nathsea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    hi,

    hope you can help me out , sorry for the hi-jack but it is related !!!

    I have a Sony 1031QM, and i wish to connect dvd player, and consoles in to it, I am thinking about getting an Iscan ULTRA.

    I want to be able to set up my 1031qm once, and then plug all my sources in to the ISCAN, which will then line double them to 480p.

    Will this work in 16:9 mode, will the ISCAN do what I want.

    Lastly how much should i be paying for an ULTRA?

    Many Thanks

    Nathan
     
  7. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    chris ,

    probally the DVDO iScan Pro & Ultra as they probally are the cheapest at the moment.would these suit my sony 1272

    cheers
     
  8. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    An Ultra is going to give you 480p for NTSC sources and 576p for PAL. These are slightly different picture size and resolutions. With a digital convergence projector you can creat two memory banks, one for each different resolution. I think I'm right in saying that your 1031 has manual convergence and this normally means just one memory bank. You might have to compromise a little on convergence accuracy so that one bank serves two different signal resolutions.

    In all other respects then the Ultra is a good match for your projector. The Ultra has Aspect Ratio Control which means that it can handle the conversion from 16:9 to Letterbox format if your projector struggles to produce a compressed raster for an all 16:9 set-up.

    Prices - check the FS section here and on Fleabay.
     
  9. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Your 1272 is capable of higher resolutions than either the Pro or Ultra can reproduce. Either of the doublers will work with your projector, but I think you'll still see scan lines.

    Ideally you need something that will produce either a line tripled or XGA resolution output. This is not what the Ultra or Pro do.

    As a stepping stone try a Pro. They are cheap enough at £100 - £150 for you to buy, try, then sell again for almost what you paid. You really need a scaler though. A Quadscan Ultra would be almost as cheap as an iSCAN Pro and it'll do both line tripled and XGA.
     
  10. crispybig

    crispybig
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    I picked up an Ultra for just under £200 a few months ago off the bay. In excellent condition with all the bits-n-box. Very impressed - so much that I replaced it with a HD+ :thumbsup:
     
  11. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    chris ,

    where would be a good place to start looking for one of these.e-bay returned zero.have you got any info or specs for me to look at please.

    cheers
    rob
     
  12. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    does anyone know what kind of money these go for and where would i look for info/specs.

    rob
     
  13. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    for more info on scalers have a look at the usefully titled "Video Scalers, Video Processing & Progressive Scan" forum :thumbsup:

    AV Forums > Video Components > Video Scalers, Video Processing & Progressive Scan

    Info on Quadscan scalers is available at http://www.focusinfo.com/support/downloads.asp#expand
     
  14. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers chris ,
    :clap: :clap: :clap:
    im in the market for a quadscan now.

    rob
     
  15. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    chris ,lads

    i have found a quadscan pro.
    would this be a better spec than an ultra or a level below.

    cheers
    rob
     
  16. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Pro is below Elite.
     
  17. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    whats it worth in sterling chris,he is looking for $450

    rob
     
  18. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    $450 US Dollars? Too much, IMO. That's approx £300 after shipping costs.

    For that sort of money you could buy a s/h Lumagen Vision which is a better scaler and has more features plus good support in the UK via the distributor, Convergent AV.

    I'd say that a QS Pro is worth about £200 max in the UK market. An Elite would fetch a little more.
     
  19. Boy Lex

    Boy Lex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've now got an iscan pro (at home) and a quadscan (for work). Personally I prefer the iscan for plug and playablilty. I believe also that the quadscan doesn't do PAL reverse telecine, so great if all your discs are NTSC, not so great if (like me) 99.9% are pal. The quadscan will do more than line doubling tho, so if your screen is going to be super massive then go for the quadscan.
     
  20. Barcoing Mad

    Barcoing Mad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +170
    There's obsolete, then there's obsolete. The Lumagen Vision (in my most humblest opinion etc etc) is the most flexible, able machine.
     
  21. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers
    the screen is 96" across.the lumagen sounds good.not to many for sale which in any game is a good sign.


    rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...