1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scaler

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by tobyjuggler, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Don't mean to sound thick or anything like that, but I am a bit of a n00b in the plasma department, so would somebody please mind explaining to me what a scaler is and what it does in relation to use with a plasma? Would it be of any use with a PW7? If so, why?

    :thumbsup:

    Thanks.
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    Do a search for a thread with Scaler in the title by NicholasB. It probably has all the answers you're looking for in it.

    Gordon
     
  3. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers, I did originally do a search for scaler, but it just bought back far too many threads! User NicholasB doesn't exist though :rolleyes:.
     
  4. dilsher

    dilsher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks, dilsher :)...something to keep me occupied on my looooong nightshift :rolleyes:.
     
  6. JohnCCFC

    JohnCCFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    tobyjuggler, it's all cash dependant obviously, but if you've seen a scaler working, you can't not have one. I've had my Lumagen for a few days now and it's very different. The depth in the picture was possibly the most noticable feature.
     
  7. dilsher

    dilsher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would totally agree wiv John - I did think scalers were a luxury really, until I saw my mates Iscan in action - it does so much more than just scaling too so do demo...the best choices are from Lumagen, DVDO and Crystallio. Talk to Liam or Gordon and visit their websites as they are the professianal experts and will tell ya everyting you need to know. The comapny sites for the products above give ya loads of info too.

    And if ya like what ya hear - buy one from one of these diamond geezers! My fave is the Lumagen as ya can see cos its so tweakable and they all do HD btw.

    Dil
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
  9. alpina

    alpina
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all,

    new to this scaler thing but just so im clear, even the new fujitsu p50 needs a scaler and doesnt have one built it?

    if the answer is yes, how much will a good scaler cost?

    as you can see, this is a totally new concept for me

    regards,

    julie
     
  10. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    Damn straight. :)


    No, all plasma screens have a built-in scaler, it's just that sometimes a separate, external one can do a better job than the one in the screen.
     
  11. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    All fixed pixel devices have scalers built in to them. The question is really whether an external processor can bring improvements in image quality over that inside the display and the answer is invariably yes....

    Gordon
     
  12. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    I don't know about "invariably" - that surely sepends which screen and which scaler you're talking about.
     
  13. The Gooner

    The Gooner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    NE Lincs
    Ratings:
    +44
    How much of a diff would a scaler make to panny viera 37" with sky+ and would it make a diff to dvds as well
    Sorry for butting in :smashin:
     
  14. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well said ! :)
     
  15. dilsher

    dilsher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...why split an audio stereo amplifier into pre and power if an integrated is the bizz???

    Regards

    Dil
     
  16. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks, peeps :)...more reading for my nightshift tonight, my head was hurting after reading the links last night :rolleyes:.
     
  17. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    Nicolas: You're correct.....it is of course quite possible to plug in a crap processor and break your plasma.


    Gordon
     

Share This Page

Loading...