1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scaler Output Scan Rates & DLP Projectors

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by ZippyCat, Jun 11, 2005.

1. ZippyCat

ZippyCat

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    I am completely new to scalers, but have a couple of questions that may resolve my problem.

I currently own a Toshiba MT200 projector which incorporates a 4x colour wheel. In essence I would like to speed up the colour wheel for my DVD viewing to reduce rainbows. If I send a 50Hz PAL signal to my projector, the image refreshes at 200Hz. If I send a 60Hz NTSC signal, the image refreshes at 240Hz. Are there any scalers for reasonable money (circa £500), that would allow me to convert a 50Hz PAL signal into a 60Hz NTSC signal? Going beyond that, are there any scalers that would allow me to convert a 50Hz PAL signal to 72Hz or even 85Hz? My thinking behind this 85Hz x4 = 340Hz thus less rainbow, or would this just result in a flickering image?

Thanx for your help!

ZippyCat

2. Joe Fernand

Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,469
    ZippyCat

You'll have your DLP hovering if you get that colour wheel spinning any quicker :)

I fear you'll be introducing as many visible artefacts as your curing if you start to introduce Frame Rate Conversion into the party.

If you want a fully user configurable Video Processor without spending a fortune the Lumagen VisionDVI is currently on Special Offer at £695.00 - down from its usual £815.00 SRP.

The Lumagen will give you as much adjustment as your likely to ever require and allows you to experiment until you find the ideal settings for your set-up.

Best regards

Joe

3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: