1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scaler for plasmas

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Todda, Jan 18, 2005.

  1. Todda

    Todda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was planning on buying a 50phd7 but since all of the issues have arisen with 720/50 I have decided just to buy the 42in version of the above display as an interim measure.

    I would like to buy a scaler that I will feed Sky+, an XboxHD and DVD into but also HD sources when they commonly arrive. I would also like to be able to take a second feed from the scaler when I get new plasma in 18 months time.

    Which scaler would be best for my needs and will it be capable of frame rate conversion without too much judder?

    Thanks
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    suggest you get a demo of an Iscan HD/Lumagen/ and perhaps a N other
     
  3. machu

    machu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your main concern is a frame rate conversion, consider Pio MXE plasma models. They have an excellent FRC system (use search to find out more on the FRC mode 2).
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    but MXE is not HDCP......so fo HD TV its behind the PANNY, NEC is top for compatibility...
     
  5. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +646
    And if you are planning on buying a scaler before the release of Sky HD then the HD7 will work fine with it anyway.
     
  6. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    Andrew,

    If you choose a Lumagen scaler then the compatability of D7 is pretty irrelevant as the scaler will do the FRC to 60Hz. How noticeable this is you will not know until you view it. Different folk have dfferent perceptions.

    Gordon
     
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +646
    I am very fussy, when it comes to judder and when I had my Vision on my BenQ 8700 DLP converting Pal to 1280x720P@60 I could see the judder, not bad, not bad at all, and only really noticable on sky news ticker tape.

    However I set up a Vision the other day on a friends HD6 and swpped between 50 and 60Hz and it was fine, couldn't notice a judder at all.
     
  8. Todda

    Todda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much everyone.

    That will certainly make me feel more comfortable with what ever purchase I make.

    Thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...