SB800 Settings - Wedding Tog Crash Course Required

TarMoo

I have used a SB800 for about a year now, mostly using bounced flash on camera or wirelessly in TTL commander mode.

I have a paid assignment to shoot a wedding reception later in the summer and also have to shoot Kay and her friends in their prom dresses in a friends garden before they climb into a stretched hummer to go to the prom. So I need to find out the best SB800 settings for "formal wedding reception" type of shoots, both indoor and outdoor (fill in flash).

What camera and SB800 settings do people recommend for indoor and for outdoor shots - Flash Synch Speed (FP?) TTL BL etc, and camera/flash compensation. I hear that FP drains the battery.

Also, do people have the flash on camera or fire it wirelessly with a flash umbrella, or it that too much hastle at a wedding reception.

I will probable be using my new Nikon 24-70 f2.8 lens wth the D300 for these shots.

Peter

Some Bloke

I'm no expert, but on camera flash looks crap.
To get the best results the flash needs to be off the camera and you want a light shaping tool to make the light source as big as possible, this will reduce the harsh light and give better results.

The "experts" say use the flash in manual mode.

Look on the interweb for video tuts by Kelby Training featuring David Ziser and also look for Shootsmarter featuring Will Crockett.

Peter, PM me if you're stuck.

SomeVorn

Ok - my experience with my D80 + Sb-600.

If I use flash on-camera - the first thing I do is assign my function button to emit the pre-flash. This will absolutely stop you getting those shots of people who blink due to the pre-flash (damn their superhuman reactions). If you use this on i-TTL and automatically compensate by lowering the power by 2/3, I'd expect good results in any conditions, as long as you use an ISO of 200/400 you tend to get an ok balance between the flash and ambient light.