Saving radio stations on a Sony cdx-ca700

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by michaelm, Mar 15, 2003.

  1. michaelm

    michaelm
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    My wife's nephew has just upgraded his Sony cdx-ca700 to a JVC unit, and I got the Sony.

    However, after fitting the unit perfectly first time in about 5 minutes, I cannot find how to save the radio stations.

    Can anyone help me with this?
     
  2. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
    Is it the case that you are unsure how to save stations or is the unit not saving them after switching off the ignition ? If it's the latter you may need to swap the position of the switched and unswitched supplies.
     
  3. michaelm

    michaelm
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    I tried that, the 12v supplies WERE in the wrong positions for my car, and other memory functions like EQ, audio, function, clock etc were not being saved, so I switched them. But I cannot tune to a station and then save it to a memory position, and that is mostly what I want to do.

    Smashing piece of kit though. :D
     
  4. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Apologies if this is "teaching how to suck eggs" but from experience with Sony head units, most of them let you "save" a station in the following manner:

    1. Switch to the preset bank you want to save under (FM1, FM2 etc).

    2. Manually tune to the desired station.

    3. Press and hold the preset button where you want the station saved. After a couple of seconds the display should update and the station should now be saved on that preset.

    4. Check by tuning to another station, then press the preset you just used. Hopefully your "saved" station should now be selected.

    Hope this is of some help.
     
  5. michaelm

    michaelm
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers for the reply AOD. Fortunately I found a website that allows pdf downloads of installation and instruction manuals for this head unit and several others.

    The correct method of storing station presets is as follows:

    1. Select preset bank

    2. Tune to a station

    3. Press the preset number on the remote for a few seconds

    Just as well I had the remote as well then. :D
     
  6. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Oh well, I was close. :blush:

    Not being au-fait with that particular head unit, does it not have any preset buttons on the fascia, or are those only present on the remote?
     
  7. michaelm

    michaelm
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    Remote only. I wasn't having a pop at you, btw. Sorry if you thought I was.
     
  8. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Don't worry, I didn't think you were having a pop.

    I must say, I'd prefer to have the option of fascia buttons (in case the remote ends up under the seat) but there we are. The onward march of progress, eh?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice