1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SAVE me from the horrors of All-in-One HC!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by dodocream, Mar 11, 2002.

1. dodocream

dodocream

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's the dilemma. When it comes to home cinema, I'm a bit of a novice, though I believe picture is most important. So, out of a starting budget of around £3000, I've already spend £2200 on a lovely KP44PS2 RP W/Screen TV, along with £300 on a Sky + box.

Sadly, this leaves me with only £500, (£600 MAX) for a DVD player, speakers, and possibly an amp. (if not built in elsewhere). First thing I looked at was the SONY DAV-S500 All-in-One which has had good reviews and seemed to fit the bill perfectly. However, reading around here I'm heard some BAD things about All-in-Ones.

So I'm leave it open to you guys to save me from the horrors (or otherwise) of the DAV-S500. I know the budget's very limiting, but the combo I choose would preferably be:

Silver (not black, if poss.)
    Have small speakers and a meaty sub
    Be adequate in power for a 15ft by 13ft room
    Be multiregion DVD

Sadly, only the all-in-ones seems suitable. Unless....

Any ideas?

Regards,
    DDC

2. Darth Vader

Darth Vader
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why not consider going second hand and checking out auction sites like www.ebay.co.uk for secondhand amps, speakers, and DVD players.

I have purchased lot's of old Laserdisc software and a few pieces of hardware from there (not all AV suff though) and have found some real bargains.