1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Satellite speakers and receiver advice

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by alan_turner, Mar 13, 2003.

1. alan_turner

alan_turner

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Please forgive a general question but I'm new to home cinema and this forum...

I've recently bought a Toshiba 32ZT29B iDTV and a Pioneer DV-656A DVD player. The TV comes with a set of four discrete speakers and internal decoder to provide surround sound.

I'm disappointed with the sound quality (picture is good though) - congested and uneven - which is acceptable with movies but poor for music (mainly classical and opera DVDs). I also want to get the most out of the DVD-A and SACD capabilities of the Pioneer.

I've already by-passed the built-in subwoofer and am using a REL Q100e which has improved the bass. I want to upgrade further with a separate receiver and better quality front, centre and surround speakers. Unfortunately floor-standers and even stand-mounted speakers are out so I'm looking for five (or six) identical satellite speakers to do the job. The problem is getting Hi-Fi quality sound from satellites.

Any advice about suitable receivers and satellites to audition would be greatly appreciated. Components would need to integrate well with my existing equipment, excel in both film and music, and not exceed a £2,000 budget. Am I asking too much?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

2. nathan_silly

nathan_silly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    What aboot two pairs of Kef Q1's ~£400, Q9c ~£200, Denon 3803 AV Amp ~£650?

www.kef.com

3. alan_turner

alan_turner

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nathan,