Satellite in an apartment

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Bungalow Bill, Sep 20, 2007.

1. Bungalow Bill

Bungalow Bill
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Greetings

Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question, I'm a satellite newbie.

I recently moved into a large (54 units) apartment block that was built about 18 months ago. The building has a communal dish on the roof and each flat has a wall panel that includes connections for terrestrial TV and satellite.

If I buy a second hand satellite receiver on ebay is it as simple as plugging into the wall socket to gain access to the free to air channels?

Or would I need get an installer to activate a link from the satellite dish to the wire that leads down to my apartment?

I'm looking at bidding on a Grundig 3000 (with the S-Video out to connect to my PC) at ebay.

2. SamRadford

SamRadford

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +308
    You would need to ask a neighbour who already watches satellite TV, or your building management. Nobody can guess whether your wall socket is connected at the head-end. On balance it probably is, so you could maybe borrow a box and try it.

3. Bungalow Bill

Bungalow Bill
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks Sam

I'll have a word with the concierge tomorrow morning.

4. redwing

redwing

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +214
    probably wont be able to have sky + though if you want that in the future.

If its a new building as you say and has a communial dish they are all geared up for sky just plug it and and get the card activated but from my experience all the ones ive seen (including mine :mad: ) only have 1 line so you CAN have sky+ or Sky HD but you can only record the channel you are watching .

I hope yours is different but ive not seen any yet .

5. Bungalow Bill

Bungalow Bill
    Standard Member

Products Owned: