Satellite DVB-S/S2 + 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by stevenjonas, Feb 24, 2014.

  1. stevenjonas

    stevenjonas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm looking for a satellite receiver which can take 1 x DVB-S/S2 feed & 1 x Hybrid DVB-C/T feed. So far I have found the Vu+ Duo2, which is an amazing machine but very expensive & the GiGaBlue HD 800 UE+, which is considerably less, but without any instructions in English & only comes with a continental European 2 pin plug. Surely there is something else out there which doesn't cost as much as the Duo2, but still serves my purpose?
     
  2. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2,942
    Duo or Uno. But they also come with a European plug
     
  3. stevenjonas

    stevenjonas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks.
    According to the Vu+ web site, they do not come with a Hybrid DVB-C/T socket. Why do you say different?

    Is there any reason why I couldn't cut off the European plug & attach a British one instead?
     
  4. stevenjonas

    stevenjonas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I understand that it is possible to fit a DVB-C/T connector (or 2) to the Vu+ Ultimo. What is the Ultimo like as a machine? Is this task easy (for a novice like me) & where would I buy the correct DVB-C/T from?
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2014
  5. 1080 jawbreaker

    1080 jawbreaker
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +899
    Amiko mini combo is available for £99. No idea if its any good though
     
  6. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2,942
    Because they can be added
     
  7. stevenjonas

    stevenjonas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks. I have found videos on YouTube showing adding a Hybrid DVB-C/T socket to the Duo to the removable patch at its back for that purpose. I cannot find any videos for the Uno & I cannot see any patches on the images of Onos. Nevertheless, you say one can on Unos?
     
  8. Delvey

    Delvey
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2,942
    Seems the uno is discontinued. However take a look at the ultimo. These can have hybrid tuners
     
  9. stevenjonas

    stevenjonas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks again. I have been looking at the Ultimo. It certainly ticks my box so far as a hybrid DVB-CT socket is concerned. But it is a significantly older machine. Is it up to modern requirements?
     
  10. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Icecrypt 3700HD will suit your needs, 2 x dvb-s2 and 1 x dvb-T/C input, can be picked up for £150, and is pretty feature packed, nice and clear menus and can record to usb hard disk.. it's very good value for money.. The only thing that its lacking is its DVB-T not T2 and also does not decode DTS.., but then again no receiver I know of does, if so not at under £300

    The vue+ are way overprice for what you get.. on the other hand the 3700hd is way too cheap for what it can do. Be aware that asked for dvb-c/t, not T2/C2, so you will not get HD channels for cable and freeview
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2014
  11. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    ?
     
  12. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    I meant icecrypt, for some reason I remember 3700hd but can never remember the manufacturer, I can remember humax, triax, technisat, but not icecrypt mainly cause not many people mention the name
     
  13. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,778
    Very true!
     
  14. stevenjonas

    stevenjonas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Many thanks. It looks a good machine. Can I add a hard drive to it?
    Also, why won't I get HD from a Freeview terrestrial feed?
     
  15. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +481
    The Icecrypt 3700HD is simply a re-badged Amiko Alien SHD8900.

    These are basically all re-badged STi chipset boxes from the Fulan stable which serve the cheap and cheerful end of the spectrum.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014
  16. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    Because it only has a DVB-T tuner and NOT a DVB-T2 tuner which is needed for Freeview HD.
     
  17. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Yes USB
     
  18. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +481
    It runs Fulan's Spark based images or can dual boot specific/hacked derivatives of E2 images designed for Sti chipsets.

    Unfortunately images have been known to be unstable, juddering HD pictures and they can be slow/freeze etc etc. The tuners are also fixed and not pluggable and with no DVB-T2 you will ultimately be restricted to what you have.

    I would therefore suggest that you check out various user experiences of these boxes beforehand.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2014

Share This Page

Loading...