Sanyo Z3 - de-interlace the 480i signal into a 480p

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Frankeh, Nov 7, 2005.

  1. Frankeh

    Frankeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Someone told me the following

    Does the Sanyo Z3 have this too? So does this mean there being no big difference between 480i and 480p?
     
  2. gingerone

    gingerone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,592
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +406
    It depends entirely on how good the internal scaler is on the given display if it is better than the dvd players internal scaler then it will look better( if it is a progressive display).
    The Z3 will scale any non progressive image to 720p as this is it's native res.
    Unfortunately the internal scaler in the Z3 is not the best and I have found that I get a much better image when using the scaler in my dvd player and have the image scaled to 720p.
     
  3. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +564
    If fed 576p I'm presuming it will scale a progressive signal too?

    ...PJ
     
  4. Frankeh

    Frankeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you are comparing it to a dvd player, actually I mostly play games on my PJ.. so you said the dvd player has an internal scaler, does a PS2 have one too?
     
  5. gingerone

    gingerone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,592
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +406
    My understanding is that it will scale any image that needs scaling to 720p as that's it's native res, but with progressive signals there's no de-interlacing to be done.
    Some ps2 games have the facility for progressive scan but as far as I am aware the ps2 will just put out an interlaced signal otherwise.
     
  6. Frankeh

    Frankeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so when a game doesn't have a progressive scan option it will be shown as a interlaced signal?
     
  7. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,018
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +1,083
    Thats what the pj will be receiving so yes. If its anything like the Z2 and you have the input on auto then it might not specifically show in the menu as receiving an interlaced signal.
     
  8. Frankeh

    Frankeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so it all depends on the internal scaler.. can you buy an extra scaler, putting it between your pj and PS2/DVD ?

    is it worth it, good quality?
     
  9. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,018
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +1,083
    Yes, i think that the mains ones are Lumagen, Crystalio and DVDO Iscan.

    One of the problems of using it with your PS2 though may be a slight time delay.
    Alternatively for DVD you could use a HCPC with ffdshow.
     
  10. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bollington, Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +62
    You can also pass any console into a PC using the sweetspot input card if I read the review correctly.
     
  11. Frankeh

    Frankeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    http://www.pluggedin.tv/sweetspot/index.html

    the question is, will it give any delay for consoles? + it costst 200£? whow for a card that's just too much as a student.
     
  12. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bollington, Macclesfield
    Ratings:
    +62
    its £149 INC vat not £200, but it will also allow you to feed Sky/NTL through it for a greatly improved pic (Dscaler and filters permitting). But i've never used it so can't comment on experience.

    Edit: it will pass through the signal so you shouldnt get any delay. If you start adding filters like noise reduction, resizing etc then it could cause a delay if your PC isnt fast enough to post-process.
     

Share This Page

Loading...