1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samung LCD TV RF input

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by rags, Nov 21, 2003.

Tags:
  1. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +324
    HI all - I just picked up a 15 inch Samsung LCD screen. The problem is the room I want to use it in only has an RF lead (normal TV aerial feed) in it but the Samsung only has inputs for scart, composite and S video - is there any way I can connect the two together ?

    The RF aerial lead is coming from the loft via an amplifier and is carrying both terrestrial analogue tv channels as well as sky.

    Thanks
     
  2. hOwLa

    hOwLa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    RF feed is the worst u can put into the LCD, is there no way u can run SVideo cable from the loft?
     
  3. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +324
    No unfortunately it's all wired up and ready to go. It's a good amp in the loft so the signal is pretty good for RF.

    Is there any way to connect them up ?
     
  4. hOwLa

    hOwLa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could buy a RF to RGB or SVideo convertor, if you search these froums I'm sure you'll find one.
     
  5. Techno

    Techno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    if it's not got RF input then it obviously doesn't have a tuner so only real option without rewiring ia Videosender from SKY, the receiver for which would connect to the screen via scart.
     
  6. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    What about a freeview box ?
     
  7. Techno

    Techno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Got it - connect a VCR via RF with the output to LCD via Scart - sorted.
     
  8. rags

    rags
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +324
    Problem now sorted - the RF input was hidden underneath a panel at the back - I am ashamed of myself and yes I am a complete muppet :blush:
     

Share This Page

Loading...