Samsung UE55C6505 problem with AnyNet/Setup/Auto Turn Off with Onkyo HTX-22HD

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by pg4uk, Dec 5, 2010.

Tags:
  1. pg4uk

    pg4uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all.

    I had a Samsung UE46B6000 LED TV, which was working fine with the Onkyo HTX-22HD Home Theatre. The Anynet+ hdmi-cec would always auto turn on the Onkyo and auto turn off the Onkyo as well, using the TV remote control.

    However, I have since upgraded the Samsung TV to a UE55C6505 and have noticed that each time I turn on the TV in the morning, the setting on Anynet+/Setup/Auto Turn Off is set to "No," despite my having set it to "Yes" the night before. In other words, the TV seems to be automatically reverting to the default "No" or losing the "Yes" for Auto Turn Off. This is only happening with the new TV.

    Any advice would be appreciated, but I'm guessing that this will be a firmware upgrade.

    Best wishes,

    Paul
     
  2. Jaddison

    Jaddison
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have the same TV attached to a Samsung AV receiver and have exactly the same problem. With experimentation I have found that the setting reverts to off if the TV is left off for about three hours - even with the HDMI disconnected from the AV receiver.
    I logged a call with Samsung through their on-line portal and they sent out engineers who have swapped the main board and put on the latest firmware. This made no difference. They closed the call without telling me and so I'm now in the process of complaining.
    If you log a call under warrenty with Samsung, feel free to quote my case request number: 2101411133
    Just noticed a new version of firmware 3005.1 is available which I am going to try out.
    Regards, John.
     
  3. raymondohunter

    raymondohunter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi both of you, writing more in hope than anything, just purchased the same TV and was wondering if you found anywhere that recommended a list of settings for optimum performance or if your just going by trial and error like myself.

    Cheers in advance

    Ray

    :)
     
  4. Jaddison

    Jaddison
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have found the default settings (almost) fine. BDwise sorts out the optimum settings for my Samsung Blu-ray but I had a problem with the dreaded "Soap Opera Effect" on some Sky HD programmes - seemed to be stuff that would have originally been shot on film. Setting Motion-Plus to the Clear setting sorted this out thankfully.

    V3005.1 hasn't resolved my Auto-Off issue.:suicide:

    Regards, John.
     
  5. therockwwe

    therockwwe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I have the same problem, I have a 3d led TV (UA55C7000WmXRD)cannected to a receiver (Onkyo TX SR608)

    When the TV is switched off for 2 hours or more the TV resets the Anynet 'Auto Turn Off' back to NO

    Upgraded the firmware to 2010/11/24_003005 - made no diffrence

    Called Samsung support and they said its because the Onkyo receiver does not talk to the TV properly (ie I need a Samsung receiver.......hmmm yeah)

    Im sure this is some sort of firmware bug - its so frustrating
     
  6. dre1973

    dre1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ponte
    Ratings:
    +66
    I had this exact same problem but with a ps50c7000 samsung 3d tv. To fix it I did a factory reset on the tv and it has worked ever since. Not a missed beat from the tv just a slight one from the amp but that's a different story.

    Don't forget to jot down your settings first though because they all get deleted.

    You will have to turn hdmi cec back on as well I think.:)
     
  7. Jaddison

    Jaddison
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Already tried factory resetting a number of times under three different software versions and this has made no difference for me.
     
  8. therockwwe

    therockwwe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here, tried resetting - still have the same problem
     
  9. dre1973

    dre1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ponte
    Ratings:
    +66
    Really thought this would cure it for you it did for me.

    Sorry it didn't work for you guys.

    Hope you find a solution to your problem.
     
  10. therockwwe

    therockwwe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers dre1973, what firmware are you running on your plasma? I'm thinking this problem maybe with led firmware
     
  11. dre1973

    dre1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ponte
    Ratings:
    +66
    I'm running 003005. Not checked for a few week but think it is the latest firmware for the c7000 plasma on samsungs website. Have you updated yours to latest firmware?
     
  12. therockwwe

    therockwwe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I got the latest firmware 003005.1, wondering if the plasma firmware maybe different to the led firmware??
     
  13. dre1973

    dre1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ponte
    Ratings:
    +66
    Just compared the two files and they appear to be the same, emagine that the tv uses the bits of firware that it needs but its just one file for all tv's, that have the same functions. It might be worth doing a reset on the amp, i had to do this last week because the amp stopped responding to the samsung commands, once rest all is good again.

    Hope you get it sorted, i am finaly happy with my tv and amp setup but it's taken a couple of weeks to get everything working as it should. Never simple is it?:)
     
  14. therockwwe

    therockwwe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the advice

    Resetting the amp didnt work unfortunately....might just have to get a universal remote and turn off Anynet
     
  15. aloasby

    aloasby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem. I have set my Samsung UE40C8000 Anynet+ power control to 'Auto Off' = Yes It work very well successfully tunring my Onkyo 608 on an off. However, over night the setting resets itself to 'Auto Off' = No.

    Very frustrating - given there is no external HDMI activity in this time it must be a problem with the Samsung TV.

    Another bugbear is not being able to turn off the internal TV tuner as an input.
     
  16. dre1973

    dre1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ponte
    Ratings:
    +66
    I have read somewhere that the problem is caused by the auto update function, in the tv menu turn it off and see what happens after that. I've mine turned off and remember the setting changing before it was turned off.

    Apparently the tv turns itself on without turning auxiliary equipment on which resets the auto on off function.

    Good luck with this.:smashin:

    Just checked my tv and the default update time is 2 hours after turning the tv off which ties in with the previous comments of it happening after the tv has been of 2 hours or more
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2011
  17. therockwwe

    therockwwe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    dre1973 you are AWESOME!!!!

    I turned the 'standby mode upgrade' off and it seemed to solve the issue

    Thnaks so much!!
     
  18. dre1973

    dre1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ponte
    Ratings:
    +66
    Glad it worked.
     
  19. Jaddison

    Jaddison
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    This has worked for me as well, many thanks.
     
  20. aloasby

    aloasby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dre1973 thanks, this works and solves a problem that has been niggling for some time.

    Now listen to how Samsung dealt with my enquiry:

    I reported the problem to Samsung and they quickly decided I needed an engineer to visit. I told them this was not the case as the problem was generally reported across the 7000/8000 range. After 20 minutes refusing to accept this approach I managed to persuade them to allow me to speak to an escalation product specialist. Clearly the specialist understood my issue but chose to blame it on the incompatibility of HDMI-CEC connected products, even suggesting I phone Sony to discuss with them or use Samsung equipment. I rexplained this did not make sense given it only happened overnight when all the other HDMI kit was in active. I suggested she got real and recognised this was a problem with the TV and they would do better to fix it than fob me off with a clearly unrelated issue. It really brings into question the knowledgbase Samsung are using if the fix to this turns out to be so simple.
     
  21. dre1973

    dre1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ponte
    Ratings:
    +66
    What really makes me laugh is you could probably phone them back and tell them the fix and the next person that phones up with the same issue would get the same bag of crap excuses you got. They all work from a script and don't have any real knowledge of the product. This is why they want to send engineers out all the time. They do not listen.
     
  22. Arifax

    Arifax
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same issue between a Samsung UE375100 and a Sony BDV home cinema.

    Not only does the Anynet+ "Auto off" feature revert to off; the Anynet Receiver setting also reverts to "off".

    Given that the Samsung TV is reverting the "Receiver" setting to "off" at some time when both devices are on stand-by, it cannot be any incompatibility between Samsung and Sony. It is simply the TV failing to retain setting.

    I have just tried turning off auto-update and that does seem to have cured the problem. I want to give it an over-night test to be sure.

    Arifax
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  23. Arifax

    Arifax
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Although turning the feature off seemed to work in that "Receiver" was still set to on a short while later, it did default to "off" overnight.

    So disabling auto-update isn't the answer - or isn't the answer for all of us.

    Arifax
     
  24. pg4uk

    pg4uk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everybody
    I've been away so have not had a chance to participate as much as I would have liked.
    I downloaded the latest firmware for the TV yesterday: 2011/01/06_003006.
    Then I went into the "Menu/Support/Software Upgrade/Standby Mode Upgrade" and set it to "Off".
    Works perfectly now.
    Many thanks to all of you for helping me to sort this out!
    Best wishes,
    Paul
     
  25. gpx

    gpx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem with my SAMSUNG LE32C450. Changing the setting "Menu/Support/Software Upgrade/Standby Mode Upgrade" to "Off" helped me too.

    Jan
     
  26. froggzy

    froggzy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all,

    i have the exact same problem but this time with a sound bar from...... samsung!!!
    unbeleivable!
    i would have though the product from the same brand would work flawlessly.. it's not..
    the h-d570 doesn't turn on because the receiver is setting itself to off after turning the 7700 off.
    i will try the stanby mode update trick this evening. hope it will work :)
    one guy on the cnet forum (aparently a samsung guy..) told me to look at the sound bar manual, staing to use the auto power feature of the bar remote...
    he even scanned the page of the manual!1 nice try... but this function doesn't work if... anynet is on!
    anyhow, i'll repoort tonight the result of your trick
    thank's a lot!
     
  27. froggzy

    froggzy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, turning the feature of doesn't do it :(
    anyone knows how to reset to factory setting?
    thank you
     
  28. froggzy

    froggzy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, i resete factory settings, turn the auto update off.. still not working :( i am at loss here.. as arifax said, the auto of setting stays at yes but it is the receiver settings that turn to off.
    anymore idea?

    thank's a lot
     
  29. chingf0rd

    chingf0rd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just wanted to add a 'me too' to this one...

    Brand new Samsung UE40D6750 (lovely design and screen) and brand new Yamaha RX-V371 (lovely sound) - HDMI-CEC / ARC initially works between the two with switching off/volume control - but the Samsung telly will not keep the Anynet+ Receiver setting to 'ON' - it resets to 'OFF' when powered off. Pain in the bum really.

    Today, upgraded the firmware to 1015 hoping that it will sort it out, but no...

    Any ideas?
     
  30. dre1973

    dre1973
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ponte
    Ratings:
    +66
    Try turning auto update off on your tv this was an issue a while back and may still be the same
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice