Samsung UE37Es6300 - VGA connection

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by killabyte, Jul 30, 2012.

  1. killabyte

    killabyte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    i've recently purchased a es6300 and noticed it does not have a VGA input...in the manual is says that the only way you can connect a pc/laptop would be by DVI... my current laptop does not have DVI, only VGA...

    any ideas how i could connect my laptop to the TV? or would i need to buy a new laptop with HDMI out
     
  2. niall campbell

    niall campbell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    Is it DLNA enabled ??

    That way you could get the tv on the network or just use an ethernet cable ?
     
  3. niall campbell

    niall campbell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
    Can your Tv see the laptop on the network ?

    You could stream the film by wi fi if your Tv can see the Pc on your home network
     
  4. killabyte

    killabyte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    thanks for the reply... yep its dnla enabled and i can see my laptop to view/stream files but i am looking to connect my laptop to my TV so i can use my TV as a laptop monitor... i have been doing more research and people are saying i may need a VGA to DVI cable?
     
  5. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,785
    That will only work if the DVI socket is DVI-I, not DVI-D. Have a look at the socket. If it has 4 large holes then it is analogue and will work. If they are blanked off, it will not.

    You can get USB to DVI adapters for your laptop. About £40 and fine for desktop and even 720p movies. No good for gaming or anything above 1280 x 720 though.
     
  6. killabyte

    killabyte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    my TV is kinda weird, it says my DVI slot is my HDMI1 slot? :S does that mean the DVI is a HDMI?
     
  7. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
  8. killabyte

    killabyte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +7
    thanks, so it seems like need to buy a VGA to HDMI converter?
     
  9. niall campbell

    niall campbell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +66
  10. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,785
    The adapter is pointless, it will only work on the tiny minority of monitors that support analogue over HDMI.

    What you need is one of these: usb to hdmi converter | eBay DVI & HDMI are digital and VGA is analogue. You therefore need some sort of converter, not just a cable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...