Samsung SWA-4000 - No Sound !!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by sideshowbob32, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. sideshowbob32

    sideshowbob32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All!!

    I have just purchased a Samsung SWA-4000 Wireless Transmitter to go with my Samung HT-X30 Home Cinema & Samsung LE32R88BD TV :).

    The home cinema works fine with the TV but there is no sound from the two wireless speakers :confused:. I've inserted the TX card into the home cinema, the blue 'link' light on the transmitter is on, but there is still no sound! I have the settings on the home cinema set to 'Pro Logic' but still no joy!

    On the LCD display on the home cinema only L,C,R & SW are lit up, there is no RR & LR! I have googled the subject, and all I have found is 0,1,3,5 to reset the system, but that didn't work either!

    Does anybody have an idea what the problem is? Thanks in advance!:thumbsup:

    Rob
     
  2. sideshowbob32

    sideshowbob32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody??
     
  3. Deputy Dawg UK

    Deputy Dawg UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Rushden, Northants
    Ratings:
    +58
    I was thinking of getting one of these when I get my new surround sound systeme this week..maybe not :(
     
  4. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    Go into the amps menu and select 'yes' for the rears
     
  5. nobby1963

    nobby1963
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +41
    Also the sound mode needs to be at `matrix` if you are not getting the sound from a 5.1 source. Have you an optical connection to your sound source - tv or sky+ or sky hd ?
     
  6. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    Sometimes fitting these wireless units knocks the rears out, so just need to re-setup in the menu, many of the same problem posted here in the past
     
  7. sideshowbob32

    sideshowbob32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The setting is set to Matrix, no Sky or Sky HD just freeview built into the TV. I called Samsung they say the unit may be faulty, but the guy seemed clueless on the phone (much like myself). He didn't mention anything about the amps menu how do I access this?
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2009
  8. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    1 In Stop mode, press the MENU button.
    2 Press the Cursor button to move to <Audio> and then press the ENTER button.
    3 In the <SPEAKER SETUP>, press the ENTER button again.
    4 Press the Cursor , , , button to move to the desired speaker and then
    press the ENTER button.
     
  9. sideshowbob32

    sideshowbob32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your a legend! It works great now thanks very much :thumbsup:! Those guys at Samsung customer service are muppets
     
  10. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    Glad you sorted it mate:smashin:
     
  11. mariesher74

    mariesher74
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need help. I have a samsung HT TZ315 home cinema system. problems from day 1. When playing a dvd could hear through all speakers but couldnt hear sky through any. Called samsungs so called helpline and they said faulty unit, useless and cleless! Sky came out to change my box to HD and sorted it for me within 5 mins. Although I still couldn't view sky through the rear speakers. Been waiting since December for my SWA 4000 which finally came last week. After following the directions it won't link up. The blue light continually flashes and then the standby light comes on. Meanwhile the DVD display keeps saying REAR CHK. The manual is pretty useless so I phoned Samsung but once again they were rude and clueless. They are saying the unit is faulty and needs to be repaired. But given that that was their advice last time I don't have much trust in them. Can anyone help?
    I have tried to do the test tone but it is no longer registering that the rear speakers are present.
    I have no faith in samsung at all now!!
    Please help!
     
  12. sideshowbob32

    sideshowbob32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This worked for me, once your rear speakers have been turned on you will no longer get the check rear error message on your surround sound and you will have sound from your rea speakers
     
  13. mariesher74

    mariesher74
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I tried that but it is no longer recognising that there are any rear speakers so won't allow me to turn them on. I can't get the wireless module to form a link. :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...