1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung SP42Q2HL 1080i problem

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by lukej, Jun 19, 2005.

  1. lukej

    lukej
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have recently purchased the Samsung SP42Q2HL Rear Projection TV.

    It displays pal and ntsc progressive scan fine thru the component inputs but when i upscale to 1080i on my dvd player the tv screen goes black and a loud clicking noise comes from the back of the tv. Xbox in 1080i will not display either even tho it clearly states HD ready 1080i on the front of the tv.
    I have no problems displaying on my lcd projector.
    can any body who owns this set confirm that it displays 1080i.

    Would a tweak to the service menu fix the situation or do i have a duff tv?
     
  2. lukej

    lukej
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump
     
  3. ElKahonies

    ElKahonies
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know its an old thread but I get the same thing when I enable 1080i on my xbox, a solution would be nice. :lease:
     
  4. colonelblighty

    colonelblighty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    somewhere
    Ratings:
    +700
    Hmm this sounds familiar I have a Samsung SP43W6HLX with exactly the same problem.
    TV would not accept signal off my DVD player at 1080i just get a blue screen and the phrase "component not available". e-mailed CS and they suggested trying with another device that can output 1080i so tried with xbox and got the same blue screen.

    Finally got through to CS yesterday and they confirmed that the set should accept a 1080i signal and will call back in 1-2 working days either with a solution or to arrange a service on the set.

    Will post results if and when problem is sorted
     
  5. lukej

    lukej
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also started to notice vertical streaking in the picture, it looks like vertical banding that plagues some LCD Projectors.

    It can be seen on dark pictures but it dissapears when sending the tv a progressive signal thru the component inputs.

    Has anybody else noticed this along with the 1080i problem?
     
  6. colonelblighty

    colonelblighty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    somewhere
    Ratings:
    +700
    the only vertical banding i ever see is on the weaker bit rate NTL channels but pictures fine on the higher ones and of course DVD's and xbox games



    Still no news off CS as to resolution to 1080i problem. Did however receive a call yesterday advising that the problem ws being worked on. Will give them until tomorrow and then call back.
     
  7. ElKahonies

    ElKahonies
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could this be because of the signal being 1080i/60hz and not 1080i/50hz? Just a thought. :confused:
     
  8. colonelblighty

    colonelblighty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    somewhere
    Ratings:
    +700
    CS got in touch with me and suggested that i try to change the frequency on my DVD player as this is apparently the known workaround for these sets.

    the DVD player I use is a Buffalo Link theater and the xbox is obviously adapted and I'm thinking both must output at 60Hz which is a tad annoying as the only chance I'm gonna get to test this now is with the Xbox360 which comes out after my guarantee on the tv runs out.

    Oh well guess I'm gonna have to learn to love 480p or 576p until I can afford a "real" HDTV set in a few years time. or if someone knows how to change the output on the above mentioned dvd player.
     
  9. colonelblighty

    colonelblighty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    somewhere
    Ratings:
    +700
    Good news as Buffalo have just released a firmware for my player for 1080i @50Hz, will update when I get home at the weekend and see how it performs.

    If ok then this might be a good way for people to get the best use out of their Samsung RP's
     
  10. wesbar

    wesbar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kendal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did this work for you Colonelblighty?
     
  11. colonelblighty

    colonelblighty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    somewhere
    Ratings:
    +700
    Wes,

    Yes the firmware update worked and the tv does now show 1080i @50hz. However I recently got rid of the RPTV and replaced with a LG24PX4R plasma so i can play the xbox 360 in 720p.
     
  12. Starfleet

    Starfleet
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm no techie but even I know if it doesn't have either a DVI or HDMI input it's not HD TV ready. I would speak to samsung and ask them how it is hd ready???

    Apologies if I'm wrong
     
  13. colonelblighty

    colonelblighty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    somewhere
    Ratings:
    +700
    The TV was advertised as HDTV ready and not HD ready so thats how they get away with it
     
  14. Starfleet

    Starfleet
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1
    What a con?? I nearly bought this TV when I asked the guys in 2 different Currys they both said it's not HD ready i said it's says so on the website, he was confused said no HDMI or DVI then don't bother first time a person fron currys got it right, he told me that the new DLP were coming out best wait for them, which i did and got a beautiful SP46L6HX fantastic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...