Samsung Sky HD

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by brewertop, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. brewertop

    brewertop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi just ordered Sky Hd. hoping this will reduce motion blur, does anyone know if it will ?

    Are the Samsung boxes any good?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2009
  2. lovesexy

    lovesexy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really really pleased with my samsung, no problems to speak of (touch wood), great picture aswell
     
  3. killer10971

    killer10971
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +36
    mines good ,no motion blur

    had to get a magic eye to improve remote response but that was possible due to samsung tv interference

    :thumbsup:
     
  4. Martin J.

    Martin J.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +175
    Motion blur is usually an issue with your display, in which case no, going to the HD box probably won't make any difference as I doubt very much if its deinterlacing will be any better.

    Poll: http://www.avforums.com/forums/sky-hd/863759-best-sky-hd-box.html

    Second time I've posted that link in a matter of minutes. Try a search for a lot more opinion, especially regarding the Samsung and hard disk upgrades.
     
  5. brewertop

    brewertop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, got sky hd ordered for tomoz, just wondering does the box upscale any of the non hd channels?

    thanks
     
  6. mudstuff

    mudstuff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes, depends on your settings. you can set video output to auto or 1080i (or a few inbetween). 1080i will upscale everything to 1080i whereas auto changes depending on the channel.

    I was using 1080i but on some channels like g.o.l.d I was getting mess at the edges of the screen. This disappeared when changing to auto.

    Technically, even on auto you're upscaling with the TV.
     
  7. Stoofa

    Stoofa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Yer - but let's be honest.
    99% of people who have voted on that poll wil have simply voted for the box they have got - as they have nothing else to compare it with.

    Simply put there is no "best box" as every review is simply in the eye of the beholder.
    Unless somebody has actually sat there with a Pace, Thomson & Samsung box watching exacty the same content on each it is all rather difficult.
     
  8. brewertop

    brewertop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    watched the cricket on ss1 hd and its mint, it makes sd look grainy and makes me want hd even more!!!!

    also has anybody got the optimum settings for watching Hd on the samsung M86 32"?

    its on the forum here but there are 999 pages in the forum!!!

    If anybody has please PM to stop opening a new thread.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...