Samsung Q7F keeps on turning off and on ?

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by BAZ171075, May 1, 2018.

  1. BAZ171075

    BAZ171075
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dublin. Ireland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Bought a new Samsung 2 weeks ago, Sunday the tv started to turn its self off and on every few minutes, brought the tv back to the shop got a replacement panel and new connection box, kept the old wires, get the new tv panel home and the same thing keeps on happening to the new tv and connection box.. Any ideas on how to fix it ?
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,511
    Unplug all external equipment and see if it's still happening.
    If it does the set is faulty.
    If it stays on start connecting each piece of equipment one by one.
    Make sure the equipment and the TV is switched off when you're making the connections.
     
  3. BAZ171075

    BAZ171075
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dublin. Ireland
    Ratings:
    +3

    did all that and it is still turning off and on, this new tv is doing it more than the last one..
     
  4. EddK

    EddK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +183
    Can you try a different power cable or socket?
    This could be a dodgy power cable, if it is happening on two sets.
     
  5. EddK

    EddK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +183
    Also, make sure your One Connect cable is plugged in securely.
     
  6. drummerman

    drummerman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +112
    Get a replacement set.
     
  7. EddK

    EddK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +183
    He did get a replacement set and the second one is still doing the same thing. What the OP didn't do, was replace the cables. Worth a check before hauling it back to the shop IMHO.
     
  8. zeppelino

    zeppelino
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Messages:
    2,957
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +798
    Did you get this sorted?
     
  9. drummerman

    drummerman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +112
    Ah. Thought they replaced the panel ... .
     
  10. alphaomega16

    alphaomega16
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    13,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Southend on sea
    Ratings:
    +3,627
    If you are connected to your wifi try turning it off, my parents TV used to turn off then on several times a day whilst connected to wifi but stopped after disabling the network.
     
  11. BAZ171075

    BAZ171075
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dublin. Ireland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Did all that.. Had the TV set up with no internet connection, I would say it was the fiber wire connecting the TV to the control box, I brought the TV back and paid a couple of quid more and got a Sony Bravia 2018 model, great new TV and so far no problems, Loved the Samsung, but the fiber wire being so easy to break was a deal breaker for me,
     
  12. EddK

    EddK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +183
    Thanks for following up.

    Sorry to hear you had issues!

    Enjoy the new TV
     
  13. SunnyV

    SunnyV
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +25
    Same thing happened to me. Realised it was not the TV but the metal remote being faulty! If you look at it when the tv is going off you will see the infra-red sensor firing and causing the TV to turn off. I took the battery's out and just used the sky remote to turn the TV off and on and since have had no problems!
     
  14. BAZ171075

    BAZ171075
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dublin. Ireland
    Ratings:
    +3

    Yes I noticed the metal remote's red light flashing like mad.. would not pair up with the TV either, I think it was a combination of a faulty fiber wire and a faulty remote, if the shop had of replaced everything with a complete new TV when I went back instead of giving me a new TV panel and control box and my original wires and remotes then I would still have had The Samsung, but he didn''t so when I went back the second time I went for a 2018 Sony Bravia instead.
     
  15. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,511
    Just for clarity, that's not the infra-red sensor.
    The human eye can't detect IR
    That's the LED lighting up to confirm a button on the remote has been pressed.
     
  16. BAZ171075

    BAZ171075
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dublin. Ireland
    Ratings:
    +3

    thats the light that was constantly flashing...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice