1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SAMSUNG ps42s4s - BEST SETTINGS??

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Pebble, Sep 20, 2004.

  1. Pebble

    Pebble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi all,

    A lady friend of mine has bought a ps42s4s and has no idea what would be the best settings for the picture quality.
    Does anyone own this model and can you please post on your settings.(I would try to do it myself , but I live nowhere near her)
    I think she has freeview + R2 dvd player

    thanks :thumbsup:

    Pebble
     
  2. Pebble

    Pebble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    ^^^^
     
  3. Pebble

    Pebble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    anyone?? :lease:
     
  4. Pebble

    Pebble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    ^^^
     
  5. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    really helpful.

    :mad:
     
  6. MrPudding

    MrPudding
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If its like the PS42V4 which i have. I just keep my settings on Standard! Everybodys eye's are different, depends on what you mean by best settings? Also depends what leads you are running into it and from what source!
     
  7. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i make sure my contrast is around 70% as it is fairly new and i want to prolong the life of the set. I personally think the rest is down to personal preferences.

    John
     
  8. Pebble

    Pebble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    thanks for the tips guys - I'll get her to turn down the contrast on the standard setting for now, and when I manage down to see her I'll give her a good tweaking (I mean the tv)


    pebble
     
  9. MrPudding

    MrPudding
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is she cute? I could do a home demostration lol!
     
  10. Pebble

    Pebble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    Wishful thinking!! - I can hardly get my scart lead in the back of her because of HDMI ( HER DAMN MUMS IN) all the time ;)

    pebble
     
  11. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
  12. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I'm a little curious about the placement of the scart cable in this case. Is the socket not on the front panel?
     
  13. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    There's a socket front and back MAW - but there are /definitely/ strict protocols that have to be followed before the rear socket will accept any input .... ;) :blush:

    ZedZed
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Where I come from the rear one is output only.
     
  15. Pebble

    Pebble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    Maw,

    each one to their own -I would put it in the side if she wanted

    pebble
     
  16. Hicksy

    Hicksy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hilarious chaps! :laugh:
     
  17. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    You experts are confusing this newbie.Wouldnt it be a simple solution to colour code the sockets? Say pink and brown to avoid confusion.
    Also, my set has another socket on the front at the top.What goes in there?
     
  18. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    The model I have just gives out white noise from that socket. It used to take an input when I first got it, but it doesn't seem to work any more. The picture quality has deteriorated over time too - so I'm tempted to upgrade. Don't really have the cash to do that though ....

    ZedZed
     
  19. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    That is certainly an expensive upgrade, Zed. I find regular use of all available ports helps keep funcionality going for longer, but there's not much you can do about picture quality. You just have to look at other older models in the same range to check for this before the deal is done.
     
  20. zedzed

    zedzed
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    817
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Linlithgow (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +13
    Too late MAW - I've already made the purchase. I was sure it was the right model for me at the time ... but these newer models look sleeker and (dare I say it) "sexier". I think my model might be made by panasonic actually - it definitely looks more "cinematic" with the lights out. ;)

    Perhaps I just need to spend some money on my current model to tart it up a bit.

    Or I suppose I could go and demo one of the new models - but I've heard that can cause problems too - as you no longer want to use the model you have at home.

    As always with these things, it's a bit of a compromise ...... :D

    Zed
     
  21. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The biggest problem about demoing other models is software incompatibility. Sometimes the new hardware mods your software, which can result in a major system crash back home.
     
  22. Steve_P

    Steve_P
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,338
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Ratings:
    +142
    Zedzed,

    I know a few people that prefer a big 42" model for the front room/lounge and a nice sleek 17"/22" flat panel model for the bedroom. :thumbsup: ;) Would that be a solution for you? :devil:

    S.
     
  23. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    zedzed,
    those new models can be very expensive.a mate of mine got one. cost roughly half as much as his house, car and savings all put together.
     
  24. MrPudding

    MrPudding
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my new model on Tuesday. Very impressed, screwed it too wall last night! Took some banging in, but once it was done i was very happy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...