1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung PS-42D4S

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by tutin, Feb 15, 2005.

1. tutin

tutin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I'm very new to Plasma, read the usual warnings about burn-in, lifetime etc, but I also have a number of people telling me the opposite, that those issues have been solved now etc.

I've stopped my eye on this model - Samsung PS-42D4S, it's has a rather good price tag, specs look real good too.

However, I couldn't find any reviews on this model and oppinions were very difficult to find too. I did read the other subject from 6 months ago on this model and the V4 model, but people there didn't mention much about burn-in.

For me the major worry at this point seems to be burn-in. Lifetime of 30 000 or 60 000 hours is anyway too much, I dont intend keeping my TV for 20 years ;) But burn-in.. hmmm

Since some of you people have those already for almost a year, do you have any issues with image retention ? How do you prevent it ? Does it take a lot of care to keep it in good health or can you treat it like a normal TV - get 20 beers and Rambo, watch drink and eventually wake up in the morning with a non-damaged TV ?

Got a colleague at work who bought an LG if i'm not mistaken and he says his plasma has a number of burn-in protections, like the picture on the screen moving every n minutes a bit in all directions, then some sort of color inverse which will balance pixels etc.

I couldn't find ANY information on similar protections from Samsung, at least not on that model. Does that mean this model is doomed to get burn-ins unless you treat it like your own child and look at what's on screen all the time etc ?

I'm from Belgium and here we can get a hold of this model for about 2400 euro, which is a pretty good deal considering all..