1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SAMSUNG or LG PLASMA???????

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by adewatson, Dec 4, 2002.

  1. adewatson

    adewatson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cardiff Bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had enough of my rear pro Toshiba nothing but problems from day one (colour bleed convergence geometry etc) and decided to go for plasma. I can't afford the topline Panny and so its going to be either

    Samsung PS-42p2s

    LG MZ-42pz10

    Both are the ones available from Richer sounds as I have a digital cable box for TV.

    Could anyone help me decide as the LG contast ratio is less than the Sammy but there are very few write ups on the sammy.

    Also the Samsung seems to have RGB Scart but no component video input, wheras the LG has component but no scart. I intend to hook it up to my cable box (RGB Scart) and my tosh sd220e (component or RGB Scart)

    Someone please give me an opinion!!!!!!!!!!!! (I don't want to get it wrong again!!!!!!!)
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    No personal experience of either screen, but I see on the spec. for the LG that it's horizontal synch. frequency is 31khz. That will prevent you from using alternative means to connect with RGB. That gives you only composite from your STB, or poss. an s-vid converter. IMHO, the loss from RGB to component is so much less than the loss from RGB to s-vid or composite, and I expect you'll spend more time watching TV than DVD, it's got to be the samsung. Interesting to see if the pic is better via RGB or with an RGB-VGA converter. That'll work with the Samsung, I think, but dsef. not with the LG
     
  3. adewatson

    adewatson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cardiff Bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks Maw I've just started reading up on VGA input and it all seems a little scary (although Dr Sim does his best to explain).

    It seems that the Samsung has less limitations, then I assume it makes it more future friendly?
     
  4. Mr Rob T

    Mr Rob T
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Ratings:
    +1
    MAW,

    Thats very interesting, where did you find the specs for the LG and sammy? Do you have the links to these or are they from datasheets. I have been looking around for these specs but have found only very limited information. The only spec I could find for the LG says the AV board accepts: Composite, Component and S-VIDEO.

    I am a bit of a newbie here and I am probably on the wrong track all together, thats why I am after links to this information. That way I can read as much information as possible, I find this the way to learn.

    Thanks in advance

    Rob
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
  6. Mr Rob T

    Mr Rob T
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Ratings:
    +1
    MAW,

    Thanks for that... I am off to download now :cool:

    Rob
     
  7. steel muppet

    steel muppet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also a point of note :

    The Screen that RS are currenly selling is different to the one advertised (newer model).

    It is the LG MZ-42pz13 NOT the LG MZ-42pz10
    and also includes the av board with component / composite / svideo inputs.

    I have had one of these for a month or so and am extremely happy with it both for DVD playback and for tv use via SKY+
     
  8. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    It's also worth pointing out that the LG that Comet and QED are selling is the MZ-42PZ14 which, according to http://www.lge.pl/product/plasma/pdp/pdp.shtm, has a better spec than the MZ-42PZ10.

    BTW QED are selling this model + tuner + speakers + stand for £2573 which is better value than RS's screen only deal.

    I've looked at both the Sammy and the LG and despite what specs say, the LG looks better (picture and aesthetics) than the Sammy.
     
  9. adewatson

    adewatson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cardiff Bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've done it!! I've ordered the Samsung so we'll soon see! Richer sounds has just had 270 of these delivered to its warehouse so it should be here in a couple of days. £2520 including insured delivery, wall bracket, scart and S-Video leads plus a pair of eltax monitor 3s as they didn't have the KEFs in stock.

    I'd still like any feedback from anyone else whilst I wait for the result of my actions!!!!
     
  10. foxmeister

    foxmeister
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ade, all I can say is "Good luck" !!
    Richer Sounds told me the very same thing when I ordered a Toshiba Plasma from them in October, 3 weeks later after hearing every excuse in the book I still had not received it.
    I cancelled and ordered the newer model from www.Nexnix.co.uk who were extremely efficient with delivery (24 hours), and same price, £3250.
    My advice, if you want it before Christmas, is ring them every day for an update, 'keep at the top of the list'.
    Cheers, Foxy ...
     
  11. Kirk

    Kirk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere on t'internet
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey Ade!

    Congats on your purchase....let me know how u get on! :D

    I am sorely tempted!!!!!

    Kirk
     
  12. adewatson

    adewatson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cardiff Bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks guys trust me though if I haven't heard from RS delivery couriers by tomorrow I'll give Julian Richer a call direct (number available from companies house as it's a Ltd company) I'm sure this aproach will keep me toward the top of the list!!!!!!!!
     
  13. Kirk

    Kirk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere on t'internet
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does the RS Samsung come with Component inputs?

    (I think they are on the external tuner box?)
     
  14. adewatson

    adewatson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cardiff Bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kirk,
    I'm afraid it doesnt have component inputs but does have an RGB scart plus s-video and VGA input(rgb) aparently though the tuner box has got components and is available as an accessory.

    Still like some feedback from anyone who actually has the Samsung??!!!
     
  15. MontyUK

    MontyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, newbie here, about to take the plunge into Plasma in the next few weeks !

    Does anyone know how the Sammy tuner box connects to the RS version of the screen ? The models in Dixons use a DVI connection to the panel itself . . . does the RS Sammy have this connection ??

    Also, if it does, has anyone seen the Sammy tuner box available for sale separately online anywhere, as I've had a bit of a search today and come up blank.

    I like the look of the Sammy screen, but ideally would want to use component input from the DVD player I'll be upgrading to at the same time (Tosh 520), and don't want to pay Dixon's price of £3k for the package.

    Any help much appreciated.

    Monty.
     
  16. roofer

    roofer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    northumberland
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi ade, i have just got my lg z 14 yesterday, first impressions not that hot, fiddled about with pic settings, and WOW the difference is amazing , if u decide to buy i will e u with config good luck on your purchase?
     
  17. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Roofer, my LG MZ-42PZ14 arrives Wednesday so please wing any settings tips in my direction.

    Cheers.
     
  18. Mr Rob T

    Mr Rob T
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rotherham
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    I got my LG on Friday, have not really had too much time to play with it yet. I am pretty impressed in what I have seen so far. I would be interested in what settings you are using roofer.

    Regards
    Rob
     
  19. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Oops. Didn't mean to double post.
     
  20. MontyUK

    MontyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone received their Sammy Plasma screen yet ? As a potential purchaser I'd be very interested in any initial comments / reviews . . .

    Thanks,

    Monty.
     
  21. adewatson

    adewatson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cardiff Bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    I spoke to Richer Sounds yesterday and aparently my screen has been picked up by their couriers and will be delivered to me on Thursday. I have only seen the Sammy in Currys where it had a really crap analogue TV signal drip fed to it by possibly the worst aerial in the world so I'll try and post an update when I receive it.

    There are varying views in and around these forums but I recall reading one from someone who had seen the Sammy and the highly praised Panny side by side, although there was a difference in quality it was aparently marginal wheras its fair to say the difference in bank balance in buying these 2 is anything but marginal!!!!

    You pays your money and takes your chance so to say. However after an apalling run with a Tosh rear pro I'm just looking forward to not having to mess around with convergence/gveometry and no longer will have to worry about where I sit in the room to get a decent view!!!!!
     
  22. MontyUK

    MontyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hope it turns up ok Ade.

    I have a follow-up question for some of the more knowledgable peeps on this forum, and apologies if this makes me sound like a total newbie . . .

    The Sammy panel supports progressive scan, but doesn't have component video inputs . . . how can it be connected to a suitable prog scan DVD player (eg Tosh 520E) so that NTSC disks display a prog scan image ?? I was under the impression that prog scan can only be passed via component, is this correct ? Is there another way to pass a prog scan image from the 520E to this screen ?

    Any help on this would be much appreciated, as at the 'budget' end of the plasma market it seems to me the choices are;

    Sammy - Prog scan support but no component in
    LG - component in but no prog scan support !!

    Thanks in advance,

    Monty.
     
  23. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You must have to add a card to the sammy or something, or does it accept component via the VGA port, that's common too. If so there'll be a wiring diagram for the pins to use. NEC use this system a lot, and sell a cable to do it for their projectors, can't vouch for their plasmas.
     
  24. adewatson

    adewatson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cardiff Bay
    Ratings:
    +0
    Monty,

    The Sammy has a 15 pin rgb enabled pc input which I believe will accept the input you require using either a JS converter box or a Keene syncmaster cable.

    Regards

    Adrian
     
  25. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    That's what I do, but it's not progressive. You're talking about RGB scart to VGA. Fine for STB output, but R2 DVD progressive component video is what he wants, I think. As I say, NEC projectors accept their component progressive via a 3-phono to 15pin sub-D, and the port autosenses whether it's VGA or component. That may be so with the sammy, or you may need an expansion card.

    Having said that, whether you will actually see a difference between RGB scart to VGA and pukka progressive component video is a good question. Not without a visit to the optician is my guess.
     
  26. MontyUK

    MontyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info guys.

    The Tosh 520E DVD player outputs progressive scan via component for R1 NTSC DVD's . . . it's this I want to try and take advantage of . . . I'm assured the picture quality is noticeably better, but haven't seen it for myself yet, so who knows.

    I guess I need to try and contact Samsung to determine whether the VGA port on the panel will accept a progressive component signal ? Unless anyone here knows for certain either way . . .
     
  27. MontyUK

    MontyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Problem solved ! Just been into Richer Sounds, they are now stocking a new version of the LG Plasma;

    Model MZ-42PZ17
    Progressive Scan
    Component Video Input
    Contrast 1000:1
    Brightness 750

    £2549.99 inc insured delivery . . . that's a nice new year present to myself sorted I think !

    Thanks for everyone's help.

    Monty.
     
  28. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Still got VGA I hope? The Scart-VGA really is the way to go for STB output, unless you can afford an iscan pro as well.
     
  29. MontyUK

    MontyUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    MAW,

    Yep, it has component, composite, S-Video & VGA on the back of the panel . . . sounds just what I need. I think I'm gonna use JS's RGB > Plasma VGA unit to connect my NTL cable box, as I've seen plenty of people on these forums recommending that route.

    Monty.
     
  30. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes, why not. I've got a keene one, and though it's cheaper, it has the occasional glitch, nothing serious, but John says his don't do it. It shifts the picture leftwards, sort of sctolls it about 1/5 of a screen. I have to turn off the STB on remote, and turn it on again, that clears it. Only happens occasionally, and only if the STB is on before the display. Picture is terriffic though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...