Samsung Odyssey G7 32" Curved Gaming Monitor Review & Comments

bogart99

Not being a gamer I just read this review as a passing interest. What struck me was why could you calibrate it so much better than Samsung when they have gone to the trouble of doing so?

anantind

Not being a gamer I just read this review as a passing interest. What struck me was why could you calibrate it so much better than Samsung when they have gone to the trouble of doing so?

I have no experience calibrating displays myself, but from what I have read I understand that calibration is an iterative process. Every time you adjust a setting, you can throw something else that you already adjusted out of whack. So you have to go through it several times, getting ever closer to a perfect calibration. Delta error below 3 is supposedly unnoticeable for most people. Samsung have undoubtedly spent just enough time to get the errors low enough, but you can of course knock yourself out attempting to get it even better.

Chamberlain

Not really happy with this monitor, do you have HDR enabled all the time? If not what was your sdr setting?

Greg Hook

Moderator & Reviewer

As the poster above said, the calibration levels have targets such as the delta error of 3. Samsung have calibrated the monitor to within those levels. For users that is all they need and no further calibration is necessary.

I did my own calibration as that is my normal routine.

Kotatsu Neko

That curve will be very distracting for productivity on a 16:9 screen. I have an ultrawide myself which is of course curved, but it's more subtle than that.