1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung NTL and MCE

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by JonMace, Jun 4, 2005.

  1. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +202
    We all know that these STB and MCE do not work well together (dropping digits etc).

    I have read about some US boxes being controlled by firewire the Samsung does not have firewire but does have USB, would it be possible to control channel changes through this and if so has angone done it?
     
  2. Mike TV

    Mike TV
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would also like an answer to this I have searched all over to find out what the usb port is for on the back of the box but have found nothing, there is also a distinct lack of manuals available to download for this box that may help. Very frustrated in not been able to get MCE to control the box, complete waste of time if you can't set it to record the correct channel in your absence!!! The only thing I read about the usb port is sombody plugged their IR reciever into it by mistake and damaged the box, so I am reluctant to try plugging anything in there to just to see what happens. I also read the firewire thing it seem there may be a glimer of hope.
     
  3. spepm

    spepm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have gone to the extend of connecting a pulse generator to my IR cable and detecting the responce through a camera to make sure it works. My IR cable works! When I connect to the IR blaster on my computer and then send instructions to it to change the channel it doesn't respond. Since I know the IR cable is working I am thinking that my computer is not sending any instructions to the IR cable at all. What is the USB port all about?
    I don't know what else to try, I have wasted many hours trying to get it to work.
     
  4. Frosty Predator

    Frosty Predator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    The USB port on the samsung smt-2100c ntl stb is an alternative LAN port to using the more common RJ45. Don't plug anything else in here!!
     
  5. tpurchase

    tpurchase
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have MCE and have written a DLL to extract Channel Changes from MCE and send via serial Redeye. At the moment the program only supports a single tuner configuration with serial redeye connected to COM1. I will be writing a configuration tool to allow users to select a different COM port etc. However, if you can support the current configuration, please feel free to contact me.
     
  6. derrickpetr

    derrickpetr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I use a Samsung SMT-2100C STB (NTL) with a Sony VGX-XL100 Media Centre?
     
  7. ric9887

    ric9887
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    A good thing is that MS appear to have fixed whatever was broken with their IR box with Vista Beta 2. It controls thr Samsung 2100c nicely, even sending repeated digits.
     
  8. CyBeRkId2002

    CyBeRkId2002
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +122
    sorry, a bit off topic but is vista beta 2 mce useable??
     
  9. Dan L

    Dan L
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wotton-under-Edge
    Ratings:
    +110
  10. rmg

    rmg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. CyBeRkId2002

    CyBeRkId2002
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +122
    does this work? anyone had chance to test it yet?
     
  12. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +480
    The KB fix is for another problem. It will not fix the Samsung NTL STB problem.
     
  13. Kurt_Wylde

    Kurt_Wylde
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    What is the other problem it's for?
    As it seems to describe exactly the NTL STB issue..?
     
  14. rmg

    rmg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...