Samsung LED UE40B8000 good for GAMES FILMS AND TV? ANSWERS HERE

Nuffsaid

Standard Member
SAMSUNG LED UE40B8000

I have had my Series 8 Samsung for only three days. I couldn’t find any helpful information on forums before purchasing it, there is more questions than answers.
I wrote this for people like me who want a good balance of SDTV, Movies and Games on their flat panel TV and want to know if the B8000 is right for them. Below are popular questions I read. Answers come from what I have seen myself on the LED TV. I am not a professional.
Every option on my Samsung is set on default apart from dynamic contrast which is set to off as I tend to watch TV with the lights off.

Picture questions:

SDTV
Picture quality? Picture quality is good colour too there is mild ghosting only noticeable if u look for it mainly around small text. Watched some soaps and some footie it looks good. I have experienced lag once just hoping it’s the broadcasters rather than the 8000

Blu-ray
Picture quality? Stunning, I watched James Bond:CR in movie mode. Picture is sharp with great colour. 24p works well making fast moving scenes judder free. I did notice a 1 second judder on slow moving panning though. Watching a whole stunning looking film with just one hiccup in not bad to me, plus my friend with me at time didn’t even notice it. What I like is the picture is so crisp that the bit at the end of the film where the bird is trapped in the lift underwater, you can see a ring around her face where she has been wearing a breathing mask between takes, never notice that before.

Games
Lag? Played the followings games so far batman(demo),dirt2(demo),cod5, burnout, gta4, littlebigplanet. All games run fine with no noticeable lag apart from gta 4 when in the apartment or small space with a lot of detail there is lag when turning left or right. Played cod 5 split screen, spun the camera around a lot on 1080p @ 60 Hz didn't notice any lag.